Skip to content

Egocentric

March 25, 2012

Scene: Harriet’s living room. Harriet and AJ are waiting for the his relatives to arrive to celebrate his birthday. To pass they time, they are discussing AJ’s blog.

AJ: I’m thinking about doing a “me-me.”
Harriet: What’s a me-me?
AJ: One of those things that everybody sees on the internet. There’s questions and you answer them.
Harriet: Oh. It’s pronounced “meem.” It comes from Greek [AJ has been learning Latin and Greek roots at school]. It’s like copying.
AJ: Oh. I thought it was “me-me” because it’s where everyone talks about themselves.

Somtimes I like AJ’s definitions better than my own.

Today is AJ’s 11th birthday. We celebrated by a) taking him bowling with a friend yesterday afternoon b) sending him with Mr. Spy to a Bulls game — his first– yesterday evening c) Providing him with a new Derek Rose T-shirt for the occasion d) Throwing him a family party at which he cleaned up, as usual.

Coincidentally, today is also my father’s birthday. I’ll refrain from confessing his age here, although I suspect it wouldn’t bother him if I did. But I will wish him the happiest of birthdays. And I am very sorry we couldn’t get the birthday boys together this year.

And now, if you haven’t yet done so, go check out Jupiter, hanging just below the lip of the moon, and brilliant Venus shining just above it. A spectacular night for a clear sky.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2012 12:21 am

    I admit — for a long time I thought it was a me-me, too, for exactly that reason.

  2. freshhell permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:17 am

    Oh, a very happy 11th to AJ. I have found eleven to be such a wonderful and heartbreaking age. They’re over the bend now for good. Childhood and childish ways thrust aside. Except when they still need you. I think this will be a very exciting year from him.

  3. March 26, 2012 9:22 am

    We saw the planets and that crescent moon shining ahead of us for most of our drive home last night. Eleanor had made us a CD for the trip, and I was thinking about you during some of the songs (the Dandy Warhols).

Leave a Reply

