Skip to content

Apple blossom time

April 12, 2012

So the house is back on the market. I feel like I should be more broken up about it. But even our real estate agent thought our buyers were … behaving badly. To put it politely. Which she did, but just barely. And so we move on. The house wasn’t back in the listings for two hours before we had our first appointment. I won’t say I missed the house showings. It was nice to have a break.

Work has been a little stressful this week, which is why I haven’t been writing much. It’s performance review season and everyone is a little frantic about wrapping things up, myself included. There are changes afoot in my department and no one is quite sure how they’re going to shake out. I think it’s all good, but change makes everybody nervous.

The most interesting part of the process is trying to create goals for myself and for those who work for me. Challenging, but also kind of fun — what do we want to accomplish? What’s realistic? What should we reach for? If I’d even thought about trying to do this six months ago, I would have freaked out. But even though I still spend a lot of time feeling like I don’t totally understand the job that I’m doing, I also feel like I have learned enough to have some pretty clear goals, goals I take personally, not just professionally.

Most of the things I still struggle with at work are the more corporate aspects of the job. Things like reporting and meetings and marketing speak, which are still all pretty new to me. I got a memo this week that used both “progress” and “transition” as transitive verbs. And this from a business that is all about language. Sometimes it’s like a foreign country.

To survive this week, I’m trying to remember some of the reasons why we moved here in the first place, like this, which is where you get to if you walk exactly two miles west of my house:

Or this, which is right in my own front yard:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2012 9:04 am

    I’m lusting over that tree. What kind is it? We have what I think is a plum tree in the alley right outside our patio gate and it’s blooming right now. The blooms sort of look like yours. But those won’t last and then it’s back to normal alley ugliness.

  2. April 12, 2012 9:10 am

    It’s a crabapple, and there are three of them lining the driveway. We’ve got a couple of white ones in the back, but they bloom later. Our plum tree is gorgeous, but it’s long gone at this point. So’s the hawthorne.

  3. April 12, 2012 10:10 am

    We have a crabapple like that in our front yard, and our lilacs are just starting to bloom. We fell in love with this house about this time of year, and I hope someone (else) falls in love with yours really soon.

  4. eleanorio permalink
    April 12, 2012 10:23 am

    I’m waiting for spring still so my crab apple will blossom. Yours is beautiful.

  5. April 13, 2012 10:38 am

    Don’t worry about the marketing-speak, you’ll get it in time. You can always use your academese to battle back. Just remember, whenever anyone used the word “leverage”, substitute “use.”

  6. April 16, 2012 7:22 am

    Hugh, knowing that “leverage” is a synonymn for “use “takes a tiny bit of the magic out of hearing Captain Jack Sparrow use the word–but not all of it, because when you think about it, he’s using the word better, as “something you can use to press down over here and see the other end go up.”

Leave a Reply

