Skip to content

A piece of island cooling in the sea

May 19, 2012

Thanks to a conference and a crazy meeting schedule, I’m spending a rare weekend in New York. The weather is spectacular and I’m enjoying the chance to explore some of the neighborhoods we’re considering. I’m staying with Cranky and Toddler J in Brooklyn again this week. We got up early (Toddler J always gets up early) and walked through Prospect Park toward Grand Army Plaza:

We stopped to visit the tot lot and to climb on some rocks:

We stopped at the weekly Green Market to buy strawberries and asparagus and scallops and goat cheese and bread and tomatoes.

We bought cider doughnuts and coffee and sat on shady bench to have breakfast. Toddler J liked the strawberries we bought especially:

Then Cranky and Toddler J headed back and I headed toward Prospect Heights to do some exploring.

Then I meandered my way back across the park. I saw the Lefferts historical house:

Past the zoo (still closed on account of the early hour):

Arriving at the entrance to the Brooklyn Botanical Garden just as they were opening for the day. Admission was free and the place was largely deserted.

Most people seemed to be choosing the same path. I figured they must be onto something, so I followed. Fifty yards from the rose garden, I could smell where they were heading.

The rose garden was beyond spectacular. The colors, the scent of the flowers, the heat of the sun mediated by the dappled light under pergolas covered in blooming vines. It was overwhelmingly beautiful.

Rose gardens are not usually my thing. They tend to be too formal and stuffy for my taste. But not this one.

From the rose garden, I kept walking. I spied a bride and groom kissing as someone took their picture and others stood by watching.

I stopped to take temporary refuge from the sun in the woodland garden, which was completely deserted.

And I found a shady bench with a view of the Brooklyn museum, where I could watch people going by.

Rested, I walked all the way around the other side of the park back to Cranky’s street. Cranky and Toddler J are napping and I am sitting on the sofa listening to someone on the other side of the building playing a mean Delta blues guitar. The sun is still shining and down the street, the Catholic school on the corner is setting up its annual carnival. It’s a good day to be in Brooklyn.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 11:22 am

    All that before noon! Love those pictures.

  2. May 19, 2012 12:54 pm

    That sounds and looks downright idyllic!

  3. May 19, 2012 3:17 pm

    If you’re thinking of living near all that you’ll be in heaven!

  4. freshhell permalink
    May 19, 2012 5:47 pm

    Wow. I’m beginning to think there’s not a bad day to be in Brooklyn.

  5. magpiemusing permalink
    May 20, 2012 3:16 pm

    i can smell those roses from here!

  6. iwom permalink
    May 21, 2012 2:03 pm

    Errr…four years right at Regent’s Park and you dinna like formal rose gardens?!?

    Come on.

Leave a Reply

