Skip to content

She’s got it

June 6, 2012

It’s a whirlwind week here in NY. I left at the crack of dawn on Monday and had a somewhat unorthodox trip in. It had been an uneventful flight, but as we neared LaGuardia, it was starting to get a bit bumpy. No one was too concerned — the pilot had warned us this was going to happen. All of a sudden, I see a flash out of the window and there is a loud explosion. Everyone screams. I wasn’t aware of making a noise myself, but I must have because the man sitting next to me, an off-duty pilot, turns to me and says reassuringly, “It’s only lightning.” After that there was a lot of chatter for an early morning flight. We were all awake. We circled for a long time over the airport before they would let us land. When we did, we went crashing into the runway so hard that the plane bounced and landed again. We were all glad to make it to the ground.

Because of all the drama, despite leaving on time, I arrived nearly an hour late with just ten minutes to spare before my first interview of the day. It’s been an energetic couple of days. There is a lot going on in general, but adding on top of it a full slate of interviews and, well, it’s a little crazy. I’ve interviewed three candidates so far and have one more to go. I’m finding that I’m enjoying the process.

Tomorrow I’m going to visit a possible apartment and Thursday morning I’m going to go to an open house at a possible school. I am trying not to let this part of the process terrify me.

I spent this evening with Toddler J, who was very excited to see me, so much so that the first thing she said after saying hello to me was, “Bye, Mama,” whereupon she started trying to help Cranky put on her shoes. As Cranky said, “Don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out.” I love the transparent motivations of preschoolers. And just so you don’t think ill of Toddler J, she did give her mother an enormous hug before waving goodbye.

Up the road, earlier this evening, Jimmy Cliff was performing in the park. Had I been more motivated to get out, I might have liked to take a stroll by there. There are a few records I remember from my childhood, LPs my parents had: the Time-Life set of classical music recordings, a whole lot of Herb Alpert albums, the Kingston Trio, the Limelighters, The Brandenberg Concertos, Meet the Beatles and Revolver, The Nutcracker Suite, Pete Seeger, Joan Baez, and Jimmy Cliff’s The Harder They Come. I loved that Jimmy Cliff album when I was small. It was like nothing else in the record collection. I danced along to them all, but dancing to Cliff made your body feel different, looser, more in control of your world.

But if Jimmy Cliff doesn’t do it for you, you could celebrate the transit of Venus instead. It was too cloudy to see it here in New York City, so I commemorated the occasion by listening to a march John Philip Sousa wrote to acknowledge the astronomical phenomenon when it occurred toward the end of the ninteenth century.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 8:02 am

    Love your description of the early morning travelers suddenly being wide awake and needing human contact.

  2. June 6, 2012 9:14 am

    i am oddly charmed to know that Sousa wrote a Transit of Venus march. despite having grown up in his hometown, and having played MANY of his marches, i did not know about this one.

  3. June 6, 2012 10:00 am

    Ha! J slays me. And….Jimmy Cliff? And you didn’t see him? Aw, man. Of course, when I was in Chicago last someone big and interesting (can’t remember who it was) was playing a few blocks away from my hotel. But my feet hurt so much I couldn’t leave the room. 😦

  4. June 6, 2012 3:24 pm

    That does not sound like a good flight. I also like your description of the passengers, it’s a full scene.

  5. June 7, 2012 7:16 am

    Was the bounce on the runway due to the lightning strike, you think? Or just an additional excitement?

  6. June 7, 2012 7:21 am

    I think it was probably the storm that led to the lightning that caused the problem — it was pretty choppy all the way in.

  7. June 7, 2012 8:46 pm

    Now I have that song in my head.

Leave a Reply

