Skip to content

Squares and circles

June 20, 2012

Beer and free music in the park on the way home from work? Yes, please. New York, I may even forgive you for being so flippin’ hot. Tonight’s music was not really my cup of tea, but still, it was lovely to see people camped out on the lawn. Three little girls were pirouetting in their sundresses, their hands crooked over their heads like ballerinas. A German couple wandered around taking pictures of the audience, the stage, each other, with enormous cameras. a man with a briefcase paused nearby to watch for a minute before answering his phone and moving on. I stayed for three songs then continued down Fifth Avenue thinking about guitars.

It was like stepping into an oven when exiting my office building this evening. I half expected the pavement to sizzle when my toes touched down. All kinds of exceptions were made for the weather today. I arrived before late and left after 7 just so I could avoid the worst of it. It turned out to be a good idea. I also wastefully left my air conditioner on when I left the house this morning, which was probably the best idea I had all day. Someone on the thirteenth floor brought her two-month old puppy to work because she was afraid he would bake in her unairconditioned apartment. By all reports, he was well taken care of.

My boss wore red nail polish today. This was exceptional too, but it was not because of the weather. It was because she got engaged and everyone is looking at her new ring, which her fiance designed and is perfect for her. It’s nice to have happy things happening. In other news, my project manager is leaving. This is happy for her, but not for us. I will be crying in my beer from the next time zone on her last day of work next week. I do not envy the person whose job it is to replace her.

I got an unexpected email from a publisher who wants me to turn a paper I gave at a conference last fall into a book. It’s an interesting idea and I will give it some thought, but I’m not sure what the timetable would look like. Let me get book number one done first. But it kind of made my day.

Today is the one year anniversary of getting offered this job. My life has changed dramatically since then, so much so, that it’s hard to look back. It no longer feels very real. It’s been a very good year.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2012 7:39 pm

    It’s been a year already? You must have an amazing amount of frequent flier miles.

  2. Harriet M. Welsch permalink*
    June 20, 2012 8:00 pm

    Friday will be my 49th flight since I started. I’ve averaged more than a plane a week. By the time I hit my one year anniversary, I should be at around 55 flights. I’m hoping we can pay for some of our summer vacation with my miles, if we ever decide where we want to go.

  3. June 20, 2012 8:31 pm

    Fun. I’ll meet you in the park one night…

  4. Harriet M. Welsch permalink*
    June 20, 2012 9:17 pm

    July 11 — Nellie McKay!

  5. June 21, 2012 10:25 am

    Hey, I know where you have vacation–you can visit New York City!

  6. June 21, 2012 11:46 am

    I can’t believe it’s been a year — wow.

  7. June 22, 2012 5:40 am

    And somehow I thought it was longer–haven’t you always had this wonderful job?? 😀

Leave a Reply

