Skip to content

I certainly can can-can

July 3, 2012

Scene: Harriet’s office. AJ is looking over her shoulder at the weather icons on her homepage for the two places she spends the most time, Chicago and New York.

AJ: I like it when they have the cactus when it’s hot.

Harriet: Me too.

AJ: How come they have the cactus for Chicago when it’s 100 degrees but they have it for New York when it’s only 86 degrees?

Harriet: Because they’re wusses.

AJ: That’s what I thought.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2012 8:53 am

    So true! I was stunned when I moved to Boston from Virginia. Once the temperature hit 90, sporting events got cancelled, parents fretted about their children’s safety in the heat. Crazy.

    On the other side, after the long winter, as soon as the temps hit 40, there’s always a hard core group (probably from Maine, I always think to myself) that break out their shorts and flip flops.

  2. July 3, 2012 9:33 am

    Snort. I have to say that it is BEAUTIFUL here today. I am, however, not in Manhattan – I am sitting by the pool. Where there is now wi-fi!!!

  3. July 3, 2012 12:56 pm

    Heh heh heh. My brother takes great pride in still wearing shorts in Atlanta when it is sixty-five and his neighbors have pulled out down parkas.

  4. July 3, 2012 2:58 pm

    We wilt if it gets above 75. Then again, we don’t wear coats when it’s 60 in the summer, either. And some of us swim in the 50 degree ocean with the great white sharks, too.

  5. July 3, 2012 3:00 pm

    I only do when I’m back from Narragansett and suffering from ocean withdrawal.

  6. July 3, 2012 6:00 pm

    Ha–I’ve long held that both coasts should come live in the Midwest and experience the bone chilling cold during the winter and the blazing hot summer weather. Tell your boy he’s right; east and west coasters are wimps.

  7. July 4, 2012 8:26 am

    I love summer.

Leave a Reply

