Skip to content

Addendum

August 4, 2012

My mother read yesterday’s post and sent me a picture of Meg as she looks today before she packed her away for their own move. Meg’s hairstyle looks a bit windblown, which might explain why she’s missing her mob cap. But there she is in her Betsy Ross dress. That’s not her original hatbox. That one fell apart long ago. This is a box from a Christmas Panettone. But it’s very much in the spirit of the original.

We are heading to NY tomorrow to look for apartments and are feeling very morose about it. Change is hard. Big change even more so. I am trying to remember how miserable and uncertain I was when we left the city for this house. But AJ learned to walk here. And got his first bed. And played baseball in the yard. We knew it wouldn’t be easy to do what we’re doing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2012 6:31 pm

    I wish you complete success in finding a place to live that suits all your needs. And tell your mother I’m so glad she sent you this picture. I loved those Madame Alexander dolls–one of my friends had several of them and I thought they were just the most amazing things ever.

  2. August 5, 2012 8:45 am

    …and he rode the subway alone here and explored amazing museums here and developed an interest in things he didn’t even know existed when we lived out in the ‘burbs….

    My Madame Alexander dolls were from different European countries. Plus Bo Peep for some reason. I made her a sister to the Dutch boy with wooden shoes that wouldn’t stay on him. I was always told they were valuable, but I brushed their hair and changed their clothes and they like your Meg look a bit, um, loved.

  3. August 6, 2012 1:39 pm

    Change is hard. But inevitable. And ultimately good. I think.

  4. August 6, 2012 10:27 pm

    Hope you feel less morose now that you’re there. Remember what Ole Golly’s mother said? Something about “always leaving.” That’s what it feels like from the leaving end. But the arriving end should feel a bit better.

Leave a Reply

