Skip to content

Neighbors

August 21, 2012

I should be packing.  But I’m not. Clearly.Yesterday was a meltdown day.  Today was a get things done day.  Things are getting checked off my list, but more slowly than I would like. I called the Catholic school and got them working on whether they can squeeze AJ in. I finally got the lease so I can start ordering utilities and talking to the public schools.  I had a good meeting with my team at work in which I apologized for my scatter-brainedness of the last few days and they offered to help me out for the next couple of weeks. Trying to keep up with my job has been the hardest part. My job requires a lot of remembering of complicated things. When I also have to remember complicated things at home, it’s a little more than my poor brain can handle.

I took a break midday today to get my hair cut and pick up some groceries at Trader J’s.  In the check out line, the tall, tattooed cashier was making polite conversation.  “Any good plans for the rest of the afternoon?” he asked.  “Packing,” I said. “It’s all I do these days.” 

“Are you going somewhere?”

“We’re moving.”

“Really?  Where?”

“New York City.”

“You’re kidding. Me too. I’m moving in October.”

“What part of the city?”

“Brooklyn.”

“Us too!” 

We swapped neighborhoods and he told me he’s going to be working at the Trader J’s closest to our apartment.

“Hey, I could sell you your groceries in New York!”

Sometimes the world feels very small. And sometimes that is a nice feeling.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 12:47 am

    Doh. The world IS very small. You know it already but probably couldn’t access that info what with all the other stuff fighting for space in your noggin….

    And there is no such thing as coincidence.

    HIT

    IWOM

  2. freshhell permalink
    August 22, 2012 7:43 am

    Wow. Amazing. Hope AJ’s feeling better.

  3. August 22, 2012 2:40 pm

    Now my brain is hearing a song from a ride at Disneyland…

  4. August 23, 2012 11:48 am

    Amazing!

    My feeling about work is, they hire you for so very many hours of your life — they have to expect to get a few of the distracted ones along with the brilliant and focused ones.

  5. August 24, 2012 9:07 pm

    Wow. I ran into a Brooklyn dad down at the bay yesterday. I was very close to asking him where how lived, because… 🙂

Leave a Reply

