Skip to content

Pining for the fjords

October 11, 2012

There is a painted over label just above the lock on the inside of the front door to our apartment that reads in block stick-on letters “MORA C.” Why it is there is mystifying. Did MORA C. need a reminder of her name before she left the house? Was the inside of our door previously on the outside, where it would have blocked the stairs and would surely have violated building codes? Is Mora a first or a last name? If the latter, why is there a period after C but no comma after Mora?

* * * * *

Last night I dreamed I was on a trip to Switzerland with a large group of people that I didn’t know — alone in a crowd. I pulled out my phone to text my parents about how beautiful the Alps were when I saw the ocean. We weren’t in Switzerland at all — we were in Norway. Norway was also beautiful. I took many pictures with my phone as we wound through the mountains and down to a large house by the sea. We ran out on the beach which was full of people enjoying the sand and waves. Out to sea, we saw black clouds sending out dark fingers toward the water — tornados. We watched in fascination but not fear. There were no tornados in Norway. The sun went down and the storm stayed out to sea. We stayed on the beach until we saw the flashing lights of police sirens coming to clear us out of the way of unlikely harm.

* * * * *

I am working at home today, which is making me feel the size of my apartment. This room that is most of the apartment is about the size of my old basement office space. But over my head, a skylight frames a piece of sky blue sky.

* * * * *

The phone rings unexpectedly (the phone never rings here). Is Roxanne here? I speculate a universe in which my name is Roxanne. Sorry, wrong number.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2012 2:44 pm

    I like this dream.

  2. October 12, 2012 2:58 pm

    Are you able to trace your Norway dream to anything in real life? I love when I have vivid dreams related to something real. Even better if it’s a minor real life thing that turns into an elaborate dream.

  3. October 17, 2012 7:48 pm

    I wasn’t able to trace it exactly, although I’ve been reading the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy. That’s Sweden, but perhaps my head is in Scandanavia. I suspect the Switzerland part was more symbolic, but I haven’t worked that one out. My dreams usually are related to something real, but sometimes it takes me a while to figure out what that is. i like it when they have their own internal logic, though.

Leave a Reply

