Skip to content

Stranded at the drive-in

October 29, 2012

In case you haven’t heard, there’s a storm out there.  I have watched the view of Manhattan from my window turn from a finely pointed ink drawing to a watercolor, to a charcoal drawing, finally smudged out by a thumb.  It is now only shadows beyond my rain-soaked window.

The storm is raging but for the moment, at least, we are warm and cozy and fully powered.  Let’s hope it stays that way.  Less pleasant is the fact that my flight to New Orleans was canceled.  I’m hoping to get out a day and a half late, but a lot is riding on Madame Sandy.  And I’m now scrambling to replan my meeting and write up the parts of things that I’ll be missing and someone else will have to do on my behalf.

New York is on lockdown.  The mass transit system is closed, as are all private and public buses and trains.  Amtrak is shut down and so are all the airports.  Some of the tunnels are closed and they expect to close bridges as the wind kicks into high gear later this afternoon.  The Gowanus canal flooded last night, before it had even started raining.  FDR Drive is underwater.  So is much of Long Island and the Jersey Shore.  We are glad to be perched on one of the highest points in NYC.  Stay safe and dry, everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2012 1:24 pm

    Stay safe, and I hope you make it to your meeting, but you should know that I will never forgive you for the fact that I have the opening bars to “Sandy” irrevocably stuck in my head now. “…what will they say Mondaaaaaaaaay at school…”

  2. October 29, 2012 1:28 pm

    I’m going to pass the buck on that one, Dave. That song was included as part of a superfantastic hurricane show on WFMU yesterday. I’m trying to get a hold of the playlist to share.

  3. October 29, 2012 1:35 pm

    Alas, I can’t find a playlist, but you can listen online here: http://www.wfmu.org/Playlists/GJ/archives.html. The Glen Jones Program from October 28, 2012.

  4. October 29, 2012 7:09 pm

    I’m following you on FB for as long as your phone is charged!

Trackbacks

  1. Fast away the old year passes « spynotes

Leave a Reply

