Skip to content

Stormy weather

November 8, 2012

The snowstorm turned out to be less drastic than had been forecast, but we still got 4-5 inches of heavy snow. A fresh crop of felled trees met me this morning when I shuffled through the snowy sidewalks to the subway. The snow messed up the tentative subway schedule, with trains running only every 20 minutes instead of every 2. This meant I got to stand for 40 minutes with my face in someone else’s armpit.

For the last two days I’ve been stumbling around the office, not quite with it. Residual conference exhaustion, I think, exacerbated by my inability to walk away from election coverage before it’s over. It’s yet another thing I can blame on the Republicans. It was worth it, though, to hear the Fox newscaster speculate of Romney’s failure to issue a concession speech when expected, “Maybe he sees something in the data that no one else on the planet can see.” It’s always nice to give someone the benefit of the doubt. But the real show was on ABC, where Diane Sawyer appeared to have had one too many and also, this happened:

Here is AJ’s contribution to election night, the product of a unit on political cartooning at his school:

In case you can’t read it, guy on the left says, “Vote for Me! I made ObamaCare!” and guy on the right says “Vote for Me! I’m rich!” I swear, I had nothing to do with this. But I approve this message.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch office, all hell is breaking loose. How can I put this delicately? Well, I really can’t. But someone is making a lot of work for us by doing things s/he’s not supposed to be doing. So far the problems have been relatively minor, but the potential for huge disaster is great.

But even as I type the word “disaster,” I regret it. Because the disaster that is going on in my city right now is great. It feels wrong to apply the word to other things. One of my coworkers was to travel south for a beach wedding. They canceled it. And their home was washed away. What a way to start a life together. Tomorrow there will be counselors in the office to help those who need it. But the ones who really need it can’t get there. There are people still without power and people who are being told that there is no projection of a time when power will be restored. Our local Y is a shelter. Garbage is piling up in the streets. They are rationing gas. If you are local, the shelters need volunteers. If you are not, the Red Cross needs your support.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 13, 2012 5:03 pm

    Wow — it still sounds like a huge mess. I just read somewhere that Doctors without Borders are coming. Unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

