Skip to content

Hey, man, slow down, slow down

November 28, 2012

I was sitting in Cranky‘s kitchen tonight, eating pizza with Cranky, Toddler J, AJ and Cranky’s and my friend M (My friend from grad school, Cranky’s friend from…me, I guess. He used to live here but I think I introduced them originally. He lives in the south now.) when M said, “I miss your blog.”

Oops.

I didn’t mean to abandon the blog. Really. Things have been a little hectic. One of the toys that I work on has been kind of broken. And I’ve been traveling. And I’ve had some other writing to do. And also the dog ate my homework.

Ahem.

Mostly I’ve been away for the most pedestrian of reasons — I’ve been too tired to think of anything to say. Which says more about my ability to notice things in this state than about the fact that there’s nothing worth talking about. Or maybe it says something about my settling in.

Take yesterday, for example. One the subway on the way home from work, I rode from one stop to the next with an accordion player who was strolling up and down the car while his child — maybe 5 years old — passed the hat. he got off at the next stop and a saxophone player got on and played “You are so beautiful to me,” until the next stop and he got off. Musical sniper attacks. But without the contrast of traveling back and forth between country and city, I’m becoming strangely inured to such things.

How do you remain a tourist in your own city?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2012 7:11 am

    Usually I like your musings better than your NYC tourist posts. Sounds like you haven’t been in a musing state of mind lately.

  2. drgeek permalink
    November 29, 2012 3:43 pm

    Changes in my life often require time when they move from “shiny, new, and consciously directed” to “routine that is just… well, routine”. That can take a while. I tell people that I never really feel at home at a location until I’ve experienced all four seasons there.

    All of which is probably not conducive to musing. 🙂

  3. November 29, 2012 8:18 pm

    Mostly it’s that I never, and I mean NEVER get any time alone. Unless I’m in the bathroom, there are always people. It’s hard to be reflective without the head space. I haven’t figured out how to get that here.

  4. magpiemusing permalink
    November 29, 2012 8:32 pm

    I went through the turnstile tonight, on the way to the train (at the GCT end). There, standing on the token booth line were a bunch of people – including a tiny woman in a pink suit and a huge guy with dreadlocks. Both of them were perfectly proportioned, just big and little. I kind of wanted to take a “humans of NY” picture.

Leave a Reply

