Skip to content

Surprise party

December 12, 2012

It’s been a day of unexpected gifts, the likes of which are not likely to be repeated on Christmas morning.

Shortly before my office Christmas party, my boss’ boss called me into his office and shut the door. It’s been a stressful couple of weeks at the Toy Factory. There’s a budget shortfall. People who’ve been here for decades are getting laid off as the company reorganizes. And a Toy line that I’ve been working on has been seriously delayed. Closed doors didn’t seem like a good thing. But it turned out that I’m being promoted. I’m not sure when exactly, but some very nice things were said about my work and a job was described that I’m very much interested in. I went back to my desk a little dumbfounded.

I went to the office party with my assistant and was surprised at how many more people I knew than last year. A friend of mine from college who works in another department came over to chat. Someone at my boss’ level whom I work with occasionally came over to join us. She and my friend, who have worked at the Toy factory for years, are friends. The newcomer was surprised to find we were friends and ended up singing my praises–“She’s the best toymaker they’ve hired in years,” she said to my friend, and then turned to me. “I love being in meetings with you because you are always in control, you always know what you want.” I was not expecting that. The newcomer is someone I respect immensely for all those same reasons. “It’s so nice of you to say that,” I said. “I feel like I’m making it up as I go along.” And it’s true. I do. But she laughed as if she didn’t thnk I meant it.

After a more wine and a lot of conversations with people I like very much, I said my goodbyes. One of my coworkers came up to me and gave me a big hug. “I really like working with you,” she said. Again, I was surprised. But I really like working with her too.

It’s nice to feel like you’re in the right place. Nice, too, to have interesting challenges ahead. I’m feeling very, very lucky tonight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2012 7:39 am

    Lucky and smart.

  2. December 13, 2012 10:09 am

    Compliments are one of the best gifts! (And a salary increase is ok too)

  3. drgeek permalink
    December 13, 2012 4:19 pm

    Speaking as someone who changed jobs in 2012, the right job can make a BIG difference in your quality of life. Congrats on the good news!

  4. December 13, 2012 6:45 pm

    So very, very pleased for you 🙂

  5. magpiemusing permalink
    December 13, 2012 8:40 pm

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

