Skip to content

Fast away the old year passes

January 1, 2013

This past year seemed worth assessing, so I’m posting this meme, which I’ve done occasionally in the past.

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
Learned to play mandolin (pretty badly, but it’s a start). Won two days worth of a trivia game show on national television. Earned my frequent flyer gold card by taking more than 40 flights, mostly in January – July. Fulfilled my childhood dream of moving to New York City. As an author, saw my first article in print in a well-reviewed book. As a toymaker, sent my first toy to production. It’s been an eventful year.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t make resolutions and I don’t plan to make any for next year. However, I do believe that resolving to do something makes things happen and my activities of the last year attest to that. I’m just not one for those kinds of lists.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Fairlywell and The Ideal Dave had a beautiful baby girl. And my dear friends K and M, after 6 years of waiting, finally adopted her second child just a couple of weeks ago and thinking of it still makes me grin from ear to ear.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My internet friend Violet/Turquoise White died earlier this year and I’m convinced she’s haunting me through my iPod. I think of her often, even though we never met in person.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. I haven’t left the country in….a long time.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?
More time. An extra room in my apartment. A pair of lungs that work. For all assault weapons to mysteriously self-destruct.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 11a hard-won project moved forward at work and I took my staff out for beer.
January 12 – I got an unexpected call from a studio in Hollywood.
February 15 – I taped the game shows…and couldn’t tell anyone what had happened.
April 17At a work party, met Grand Wizzard Theodore, inventor of scratching, and got to hear him at work.
June 27-29airing of aforementioned game show and concurrent discussion of my performance on the professional listserv for my field, including commentary from a well-known senior scholar with a terrifying reputation.
July 22I walked on the Hudson River Greenway on a warm evening and discovered people dancing by the river as the sun set.
August 12Found an apartment. Phew!
August 26AJ’s last show with his band feels like the big goodbye.
August 31Left Illinois for NY
September 10AJ’s first day of middle school – in uniform.
September 28Sold our house
October 29 Hurricane Sandy

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Hmm. Most of the things that sound like achievements this year were actually based on things that happened last year, so don’t feel so important. But the thing that feels like the biggest accomplishment is being here in New York – something that took vision and strength I didn’t know I had.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not getting my diss done.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I got cellulitis in early February, which nearly sent me to the hospital just before flying to California. But thanks to some aggressive treatment in urgent care, recovered quickly. I also had an unprecedented bout with laryngitis last week from which I’m still trying to recover. But nothing too serious.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Plane tickets to L.A., our first vacation since our honeymoon in which we didn’t visit anyone we knew.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My amazing neighbors who dropped everything to help out Sandy victims — and are still helping.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Sadly, I have to say my son, who’s suddenly gone all adolescent on me. Also the NRA, the Westboro Church and Congress. But what else is new?

14. Where did most of your money go?
Plane tickets and tuition.

15. What did you get really excited about?
Appearing on Peril?

16. What song will always remind you of 2012?
This is a tough one. There’s no obvious choice this year. Maybe Beirut’s “Santa Fe.”

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
– Happier or sadder?
Happier.
– Thinner or fatter? Fatter. But I’m working on it.
– Richer or poorer? Richer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Writing. And also thinking about writing. The problem this year has not so much been finding the time as finding the headspace. Time is challenging too, but if my brain were quicker to engage, it would be happening.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Worrying. I thought I would be sad when we sold our house – and I was a bit. But mostly I felt like an enormous weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
On the road, visiting both sets of parents.

21. Did you fall in love in 2012? No, but I did celebrate my 12th anniversary. I recommend getting married in a 00 year. It makes anniversaries really easy to remember.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Treme

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I can’t think of anyone I hate at all.

24. What was the best book you read?
Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi. Also the last book I read. Sorry, all those books I read in January! I also really enjoyed Will Hermes’ Love Goes to Buildings on Fire. Oh, and Moonwalking With Einstein by one of the Foers (I always mix them up) was good too.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
All kinds of New Orleans music, from second line bands to Cowboy Mouth. This actually predated the watching of Treme, although Treme certainly fed my interest.

26. What did you want and get?
To sell my house. To move to New York full time. To publish something.

27. What did you want and not get?
To get healthier. To finish my dissertation.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Did I see any films this year? I only remember seeing some movie about bird watching with Steve Martin on the plane on the way back from L.A. I’m pretty sure I saw a couple with Andy, but I can’t, off hand, think of what they were.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Not much. I didn’t get a single birthday present. Mr. Spy and AJ took me out to dinner. And I’ve reached that age where I keep forgetting how old I am, not out of coyness, but out of genuine disbelief.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Finishing my dissertation.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
Must be able to be wearable after being squashed in a suitcase.

32. What kept you sane?
My guitar.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Can’t think of one.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
The election.

35. Who did you miss?
My family. On the road all the time, I was always missing something or someone.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
I’m not sure I made any new friends this year – a hazard of being constantly in motion. Does Alex Trebek count?

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.
Don’t let your fears tell you what to do. Also, I made a good list of recent life lessons here.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
“Leaving on a Jet Plane?” “Hello/Goodbye?” “New York Groove?” So many to choose from, but nothing sounds quite right. I’ll give this some more thought.

Won’t you join me in this New Year’s meme? If so, please leave a link in the comments below.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. eleanorio permalink
    January 1, 2013 4:52 pm

    Okay, I’m playing. Here’s my link: link

  2. January 1, 2013 7:10 pm

    Me too. You can read mine here.

  3. January 1, 2013 7:22 pm

    I am still so incredibly jealous that you met and heard Grand Wizzard Theodore.

  4. January 1, 2013 9:36 pm

    I think you might have gotten a single birthday present, but it was second-hand, not wrapped, and a bit coercive in an already-busy year. (I did succeed in getting my English major daughter to read The Last Gentleman this fall.)

  5. January 1, 2013 9:49 pm

    OK, I’m in.

  6. iwom permalink
    January 3, 2013 3:30 am

    Why not?

    IWOM

    http://iwom.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/yippee/

Trackbacks

  1. Doing the meme thing. « My world and welcome to it
  2. Year in Review « Permanent Qui Vive
  3. Nu, Year « Yips&Howls's Blog
  4. Yippee! « The International Woman Of Mystery

Leave a Reply

