Skip to content

Brooklyning

January 20, 2013

Things at the Toy Factory continue to develop, but it seems that my concerns about the way things had been handled were unfounded, which is a great relief. Still, there seems to be something not quite right. I’m hoping that in the process of my figuring out what I’m supposed to be doing that everything will get straightened out. But now my greatest worry is how I’m going to shoehorn all of this into my work day. And also how to ask for a raise.

Asking for a raise is something everyone needs to do (well, everyone who works for someone else, anyway).  I’m very good at asking for raises for other people.  It’s easy to go to bat for other people.  It’s a lot harder to go to bat for yourself.  But it’s become clear to me that the new things I’m taking on are significant and will result a good deal more work and responsibility for me.  I need to do this.  But I’m chicken.

In the interest of steeling myself, I’ve been reading self-help type articles on asking for a raise.  Even though I already know what I’m supposed to do, it makes me feel better about trusting my instincts to see them confirmed in print.  But you know what? Business writers can’t write.  My favorite error of many was in a Fine Outstanding Readable But Easy Source, which cautioned me against approaching my boss with “idol threats.” I am trying to imagine what an idol threat might look like.

Meanwhile, we’ve been busy in the neighborhood.  Last weekend was AJ’s first rehearsal at rock school  The school meets in a local recording studio, which is lined with posters signed by the artists who record there — Marky Ramone, Suzanne Vega, Lucious Jackson, Diamanda Galas.  Last week there was a gospel choir recording in a back room while we waited.  The studio is run by a mix of skinny hipsters in faded red pants and dred-locked guys in dashikis and large knit caps.  I have yet to see another female in the place, besides the girl singer in AJ’s band.  There are, however, lots of boys AJ’s age hanging out with guitars.  Perfect.

While AJ practiced yesterday, Mr. Spy and I walked up to the Brooklyn Museum, which I’d never been to.  It was much larger and more impressive than I was expecting and an interesting and eclectic collection, including a piece of feminist art I’ve heard about for years but had never seen.  We also discovered a miniaturized but still large Statue of Liberty outside in the parking lot. It could have been the angle from the window, but she looks like she’s put on a few pounds.

We’ve done a lot of park walking.  AJ’s practiced some parkour.  We’ve spent countless hours arguing with AJ — it’s his favorite mode of communication at the moment, closely followed by storming off in a huff and talking rudely to one and all but especially us.  So it’s good we can kick him out and send him to the playground every  now and again.  We tried a cheese store, which turned out to be dangerous in that we’ve been there twice in 24 hours.  We had espresso at the restaurant up the road where everyone speaks Italian.  Tomorrow AJ and I both have the day off and we’re hoping to do something athletic somewhere.  Exactly what is open to debate.  He’s asking for a gym on the edge of Williamsburg that appears to be in a rather dicey neighborhood and is quite far from the subway.  I’m lobbying for one a little farther away but much easier to get to.  But really, I’m hoping everyone sleeps in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2013 8:48 am

    I think the best idol threat is carrying a wooden tiki carving and swinging it at the boss’s head if he doesn’t do what you ask. That way you fit right in at the bar afterwards.

  2. January 21, 2013 10:11 pm

    Hah! Yes, that would definitely be the way to go. I’m trying to avoid violence, however.

Leave a Reply

