Skip to content

Octet

March 16, 2013

1. Freaking out that the one outlet in my bedroom stopped work. Flipped all the fuses. Pulled out the tools. Cursed a lot. Took things apart and put them back together several times. Cursed some more. Got stompy and headed out for more tools. Noticed that the lightswitch was turned off. Oops. Problem solved.

2. AJ is going to be 12 in just over a week. How did that happen?

3. He wants electronic things and nothing but. Sigh.

4. We had a lovely visit with my parents. They were only here for a day, but we got to walk around the park and AJ gave us a tour of his school. I’ve been there before of course, but not when his friends were around. I like being reminded that my kid has a life apart from me. I also like seeing where I live through other people’s eyes.

5. My parents and AJ and I met Cranky and J (now 3 and no longer a baby or a toddler) to go walk to the farmer’s market. J loves an audience and was excited about the new people to visit. She ran most of the way to the market, stopping to hug things. “Hey! I’m hugging a tree! Woo-hoo!” We heard a lot of “hey!” and “woo-hoo!” this morning. J was at her most hilarious. She seemed to take a shine to my father who sprinted after her and made her shriek.

6. I took AJ to band practice today, but only he and the drummer showed up. His teacher came out and said,”Cool. I’ve got my bass, so we’ll be like Nirvana.” He pointed to the drummer, an 11-year-old kid with a mop of hair in his eyes and a green and white stripe shirt. “You can be Dave Grohl. And you,” he said to AJ, “can be Kurt Cobain. Or would you rather be Jimi Hendrix?” AJ laughs, not sure how to respond. “Just don’t smash any guitars,” I say to AJ. “Yeah, and don’t set them on fire,” laughs his teacher. “They might kick us out. Or maybe they would like it. They’re pretty cool here.” They go inside the studio and shut the door. A few minutes later I hear AJ playing the riff from “Smells Like Teen Spirit.” And the guitars are safe from arson for another day.

7. Mr. Spy is sick, so AJ and I head out to get some soup and videos. It is snowing. AJ, who just minutes earlier was too grown up to listen to me tell him to put his hat on is telling me how he likes to look up at the sky, follow a snowflake all the way down, and catch it in his mouth. I try it as if I have never done it before. It’s harder than it looks and we are laughing, which melts the snow on our eyelashes.

8. Tomorrow, it seems possible that we will be in a St. Patrick’s Day parade. I am playing at church in the morning and the Spy family will join up with either the church or school or both to march through the neighborhood. This is not something we normally do, but AJ will, apparently, get a get-out-of-homework-free card and a dress down card for school. He will do nearly anything to not have to wear his uniform for a day. So tomorrow, we will be Irish for an hour or two. I am trying to figure out if I can play O’Carolan at Mass. One way to find out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2013 8:03 am

    Glad you didn’t pay for a service call only to find out the light switch was in the off position. Sadly, we aren’t so smart and paid $75 for a plumber to plug in the disposal in our place in Boston. In our defense, I will say that the contractors who’d been working in the kitchen had unplugged it and didn’t bother to plug it back in again . . . still. We felt stupid.

  2. Cranky permalink
    March 18, 2013 8:43 am

    She’s still a toddler, I assert.

  3. March 18, 2013 9:26 am

    Just so long as “toddler” incorporates sprinting.

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

