Skip to content

In just spring

April 5, 2013

The windows are open and I can hear the children playing in the park.
Across the street, a small boy in a yellow raincoat squats alongside his mother and digs in the dirt with his bright blue shovel while his corgi snoozes on the stoop like a fat brown sausage.
The evening sun is glinting off the steel and glass columns of lower Manhattan.
A cool breeze ruffles the papers I’ve left on the windowsill.
The radio is playing a country song, stopping to announce, “It’s sunny and 58 degrees in Central Park.”
The bubbles in my Prosecco tickle my nose as I stir a pot of chicken and rice and broccoli.
Tomorrow is opening day. There will be a parade. AJ and Mr. Spy will be in it and Cranky and Big girl J and I will cheer.
There is a ball game on the television in the next room. I can hear the click of the bat.
I am not yet tired of the sun.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2013 7:19 am

    Is there ever a time you are tired of the sun? Not me!

  2. April 6, 2013 11:33 am

    Yes. I do not like summer. I do not like heat. And if it’s too sunny, I have to stay in side (pale, allergic to most sunscreen).

  3. April 7, 2013 1:25 pm

    Oh my, you are such a New Yorker!

Leave a Reply

