Skip to content

Like a boss

May 1, 2013

It’s performance review season at the Toy Factory. I started working on the reviews I have to write for others early, but with my own review looming, I finally buckled down to work on mine and consequently spent the afternoon careening between fist pumps and self-flagellation. Ugh. Please tell me the rest of you do this too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2013 8:18 am

    I had to do this when I worked in a job similar to yours. I loathed doing it. I could rarely find the right frame of mind that would let me be honest yet truthful about colleagues, and I spent hours editing the reviews for just the right phrasing and tone. In many ways I felt it a waste of time, but everyone had to do it. Not much actual work with work materials got done during those weeks.

    Good luck. I recommend gin.

  2. May 2, 2013 6:21 pm

    Yes, it’s a quarterly event in corporate America. Fun, fun let me tell you.

  3. freshhell permalink
    May 2, 2013 7:25 pm

    I keep a weekly log of what I do so I can pretty easily collect what I do in a year into the appropriate buckets. I guess if it really made a difference, I’d care more but it’s just an exercise of “whatever” that allows me to continue to have a job and maybe I get a 1% raise each year. That’s about all I can expect anymore. And really, if I haven’t been doing my job, I’d know about it well before performance review time. It’s just an annoying thing I have to do that distracts me from the job I’m supposed to be doing.

  4. May 2, 2013 9:32 pm

    Gin sounds like an excellent plan. EDJ, only yearly at the Toy Factory. Freshhell, we’re moving to an online system after this review that will allow us to take log progress as we go in a journal. I think that will help me.

  5. May 3, 2013 11:35 am

    Yes, that was my least favorite time of year. I kept track of things through the year and that helped (much better than trying to remember a whole year’s worth of projects in January). I felt about it as Freshhell does until I found out they were using our self-written reviews to determine headcount. My next self-review was downright glowing.

  6. drgeek permalink
    May 6, 2013 8:54 am

    Annual review season came in September for me for many years. Now it comes in January. I think it can serve a purpose, but only if it is one part of a year long process. At its best, it was a time for me to sit down with my manager, review my career goals, get feedback from my manager about my work habits, and create objectives for the coming 12 months. At its worst, it simply becomes blather. Does the Toy Factory have a formal process or some kind of review form to help give some structure to the writing?

  7. May 6, 2013 10:53 am

    It’s a formal process and it actually works really well for the most part. I think it’s the kind of thing where it is what you make of it. I tend to get distracted by current needs and forget about my annual goals, so I flag goal checks 3 times a year (on top of the official review) for myself to make sure I’m staying on top of things. At those times I also schedule meetings with my staff to go over their individual goals for the team and also their personal career goals. It’s been working really well and has allowed us to fix things that aren’t working sooner rather than later. Our department also recommends weekly or bi-weekly check-in meetings (weekly with each of my staff, bi-weekly with my boss) to update on work since the last meeting. As a result, we’re all getting feedback all the time, so the year-end is really just pulling together all the info from the year and taking a step back to look for overall patterns and to assess what’s working and what isn’t. It also helps that I work for someone who is an excellent manager. It helps to have good role models.

Leave a Reply

