Skip to content

Scenes from my week

May 9, 2013

* Best performance review ever. Seriously. It was embarrassing. And also a relief.

* Proposal I’ve been working on for a year got approved. Even better — getting to tell all the people working on it with me the good news.

* Home sick for two days — probably should have been three. But the bonus? Veronica Mars reruns at 5 pm. Yes I have seen every episode a bazillion times. No, I am not tired of watching them yet. Yes, I was an early contributor to the record-setting Kickstarter campaign. Yes, I’m a little embarrassed about that fact.

* Having excellent candidates for our summer intern position. Although horrified to find such talented unemployed people. And also not surprised.

* Gratitude for having such excellent people to work with and getting the chance to tell them so all official-like once a year.

* Hearing the peal of the carillon in the church outside my office window playing Mendelssohn’s “Wedding March” on a Thursday afternoon, as men in dark suits and women in colorful dresses spill onto the street

* Coming home and seeing a man in jogging clothes walking his dog toward the park, headphones in, dancing up the street, oblivious to anyone watching. Coming the other way, a young woman pushing a stroller is also dancing to entertain her toddler. When they meet mid-block, they smile and dance around each other on their respective ways.

* Sushi for dinner.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2013 9:01 am

    I really don’t know why love of VMars is embarrassing. My whole family was enthusiastic about being early contributors to the kickstarter.

  2. May 13, 2013 9:05 am

    It’s not the love that’s so embarrassing, it’s that I think I’ve long since passed into obsession. It’s pretty much the only television show I watch anymore (Okay, I had a brief flirtation with Treme last fall, but then its season ended and it left me, so I went back to Veronica). Yes, I do feel like it may be a slightly unhealthy relationship, hence the embarrassment. But mostly, I don’t care.

  3. freshhell permalink
    May 13, 2013 6:27 pm

    I’ve never seen the show but added it to my Netflix queue. I don’t plan to watch though until I have my house to myself. Because I don’t think I want to share. 🙂

  4. May 15, 2013 10:43 am

    Obsession I understand. As my Tumblr reveals, I’ve long since passed into obsession with another TV show (Supernatural). Eleanor got me some temporary tattoos for mother’s day. Anti-possession tattoos. We both think this is hi-larious (to quote Jayne, from Firefly).

Leave a Reply

