Skip to content

Cat’s cradle

June 16, 2013

I was working on a guitary post that I was hoping to put up tonight, but I’m now thinking it needs some musical examples to make it work. So it may take me a bit to figure out how to record them. I am missing my basement studio.

We’ve had a very low-key weekend. Yesterday was AJ’s last baseball game of the season. It was a beautiful day and after the game (a loss, alas), we ordered pizza and hung around the field while the boys alternately ate and played and the parents talked. I’ve really enjoyed getting to know the parents on this team. There are a number of people with whom I’d like to spend more time. And by the end of a sports season, that is not, in my experience, a usual state of affairs. They are all already talking about next year, which is nice. Toward the end of the game, a concert started at the bandshell. By the time of the party, Calexico was playing. To stand around in a park on a summer evening, talking to interesting people, eating good food and listening to a good band is pretty high on my list.

Sunday we were slothful. We got up early and I played at Mass and went for a longish walk in search of pastries from this place [note to <a href=http://freshhell.wordpress.com: this place is amazing and not too far from where you’re staying] and then came back and made the requisite Father’s Day French toast and presents and then crawled back in bed, all of us, and played monopoly (AJ won, of course). Eventually we dragged ourselves to the park where AJ and Mr. Spy had a catch while I practiced my guitar under a tree. Then we went back and lay around some more. Every now and then it’s good to live in a napping house.

How was your weekend?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 7:53 am

    My weekend was full of The Crucible and teenagers coming and going and staying out late.

Leave a Reply

