Skip to content

Unexpected

June 27, 2013

Things that happened today that I didn’t expect:

• An extended discussion of p0rnography at our monthly staff meeting

• Running into a co-worker I haven’t seen in a while in the elevator and discovering she’s pregnant

• Learning that one of my favorite co-workers is leaving (really good for him, very sad for us)

• An extended conversation with a new co-worker who reminds me so much of Julia that I feel a pathological need to introduce them to each other. Note that it is always a plus to work with someone who reminds you of Julia.

• Not one but two impromptu and productive meetings taking place today in the bathroom.

* Getting carded when going to a bar with a bunch of twentysomethings

* A screaming mob of runners sprinting down Fifth Avenue

• Coming home from an evening out with co-workers and NOT rehashing all the stupid things I said because for once, I didn’t feel like a total dork.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. eleanorio permalink
    June 27, 2013 9:29 pm

    Carded! Good job, Harriet!

  2. June 27, 2013 9:31 pm

    There’s another one of me? Is she also always anticipating a firing?

  3. June 27, 2013 9:32 pm

    Also, to your last point, good work. I don’t think I’ve ever come home from a thing and not needed to confess all my awkwardness somehow. I live for the possibility, though.

  4. June 27, 2013 9:43 pm

    It helps to work with fellow dorks. And I don’t think she’s been there long enough to anticipate firing, but she did confess feeling like it might have been a mistake that she was hired.

Leave a Reply

