Skip to content

Shopping list

July 29, 2013

1. Toothpicks (suitable for propping eyelids open)
2. Coffee
3. More coffee

My triumph over 800 pages was short lived: Another 700 appeared in my inbox today. I have three days to read and comment.

4. Milk

“Mom, we’re out of milk.”
“Are you sure? I just bought a gallon yesterday.”
“Yeah. I think I drank it.”
Hmm. 12-year-old boys.

5. Bleach. Or possibly white spray paint.

Sliding on a baseball diamond into a mud puddle+brand new white uniform pants+4 trips through the washing machine = not white but taupe.

6. Books and more books.

We have an upcoming vacation that will involve, in part, sitting in a cabin in the woods. I want to be prepared. Do you have anything to recommend?

7. Cake.

Also tomorrow may be my birthday. I don’t think I’m in denial, but neither am I paying much attention. I used to think that it would be impossible to forget your own birthday or that if it happened it would be a bad thing. But really it’s that everything else is equally interesting and distracting. So really, I think, that is better. Still, 700 pages. 3 days. That’s approximately 34 pages an hour. I think I can. I think I can.

8. Wine.

My friend H. is coming to visit from Chicago on Friday. There will, I think, need to be wine.

What’s on your shopping list?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 68lhooker permalink
    July 30, 2013 9:02 am

    That’s definitely a lot of pages. Makes my page proof issue (still not quite arrived in my inbox) look wimpy by comparison. I have no reading recommendations unless you’re into thick Hungarian novels, and those aren’t really recommendations… I spent my recent time in a house in the woods mostly sitting in a swimming pool and refereeing incompletely rule-abiding games of Monopoly and Connect 4, so I’ve got nothing. Also, Happy birthday! Hooray!

  2. July 30, 2013 1:10 pm

    Those 700 pages better be interesting.

  3. July 30, 2013 10:27 pm

    So nice to see you here, Lynn! Be glad your book isn’t 8 volumes. But yay, proofs! Your vacation sounds lovely. Also, I am fairly certain that it is not possible to play by all the rules of Monopoly. And, having a kid who’s a stickler for reading and memorizing rules of games, I’ve also learned that apparently we just made things up when we were kids. Thanks for the birthday wishes! Readersguide, they actually are very interesting. More on that soon.

  4. July 31, 2013 10:21 am

    In my experience, buying groceries for a son gets more arduous before it gets less. At some point, you have to enlist his help just to get it all in the house.

    We read Doctorow’s Pirate Cinema, Scalzi’s The Human Division, Mantel’s Bring Up the Bodies, re-read Love in the Ruins, and passed around Roach’s Gulp and a non-fiction book titled Maphead while on vacation. I highly recommend bringing some books that you can pass around and talk about at meals.

Leave a Reply

