Skip to content

Sunday

September 15, 2013

I was on a self-imposed hiatus as a church musician this summer. I enjoy playing, but I need a break. And if truth be told, the Spy family was a little less, er. religious about going to Mass over the summer. We all need a break from routine sometime. Also, they cancel our preferred Mass time in the summer. Because apparently we’re not the only ones who get a little more sinful between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

But the early morning Mass is back and this morning I was back in the choir loft with my fiddle. One of my favorite things about playing the 8:30 Mass is that I get home at 9:30 and I already feel like I’ve accomplished something with my day and therefore some sloth time is sanctioned. Huzzah! Actually, I should probably be cleaning the house. Maybe after I have another cup of coffee.

I got back to my office on Wednesday and was faced with the stunning absence of the biggest project I’ve been working on since I got here. It was both euphoric and bewildering, as I try to regroup. Now all I have to do is wait for the thing to get made. And also try to help sell it. It was mentioned in the New York Times this morning. And now I’m starting to panic that we got everything right. But it’s that panic that comes from being able to do nothing. The thing is, we probably didn’t do everything exactly right. That’s the nature of the beast. But I think we got the important stuff right. And I’m going to have to live with the rest.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2013 6:45 am

    “stunning absence.” That’s an evocative phrase.

  2. September 16, 2013 5:13 pm

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

