Skip to content

No time left for you

October 10, 2013

We’re just trying to keep our heads above water here at Spy Headquarters. Here’s what’s happening

The high school research process has begun. AJ has been coming home from school with giant catalogs of schools and test prep books. High school in NYC is serious business and the high school process starts in 7th grade. He’ll be applying next fall for the following years. The top public schools have admissions rates lower than the Ivy League — Stuyvesant HS, for example, admits approximately 3% of applicants vs. Harvard at just under 6%.

I’ve been worried that AJ would be feeling the pressure, but he seems to be enjoying it. He’s excited about high school, interested to see what the options are. So far we’ve been to two open houses, one held not at the school, but at our church, and another at one of the Specialized High Schools (the top schools which require special testing and/or auditions. AJ’s asking a lot of questions, studying the tests and the brochures. I’m sure next fall will be a different story, but for now, he’s having fun.

Work has been crazy. The closer it gets to my toy’s release date, the more talks I have to give, people I have to talk to, things I have to write. At home, I’m trying desperately to finish my taxes before we take a short vacation this week. Mr. Spy’s birthday is this weekend and I am not ready.

What’s new in your neck of the woods?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2013 12:37 pm

    I hate that we’re forcing our most gifted children to specialize earlier and earlier. My niece goes to one of those specialized high schools, for science and math, and as a result, she won’t even consider a liberal arts college. She has her sights set on a career path and will tolerate no detours.

  2. freshhell permalink
    October 12, 2013 5:52 pm

    I’m trying to interest Dusty in the governor’s school in our district but she wants to stay here with her friends and do the local hs’s IB program. Which is fine but I think she might be passing up a really extraordinary opportunity. On the other hand, she’ll still do well in the IB program and be in great shape for college. She’s looking forward to hs period because the electives are much more interesting and the opportunities much broader than middle school. But, no tests other than the basic state ones are involved yet. I don’t know what the gov school requires but I’ve suggested she apply. Just in case.

  3. October 13, 2013 6:06 am

    We’d have faced difficult and potentially costly choices if we’d stayed in Columbus. At the time, the public schools were wretched so our kids went to a private school. But we moved when they were getting ready to start kindergarten and first grade respectively.

    Fortunately, Lawrence, KS has amazing public schools and so we never faced that particular rat race.

    But I guess I don’t see anything wrong with someone already knowing what it is they want to do with their lives and sticking with that path — talking about Jeanne’s niece. I hated feeling so unsettled in high school precisely because I didn’t have any ideas on how to find a fulfilling career. That’s a lot of why I joined the Army at 18.

  4. October 13, 2013 12:29 pm

    What’s “wrong” with it is that the detours are what lead us–the human race–down paths that haven’t already been well-trodden by others. Being curious about a lot of fields leads to synthesis.
    So what I’m saying doesn’t necessarily apply to individuals; I’m talking about the potential of gifted students, which is too often, today, channeled into particular career paths before they have the chance to explore other paths that could contribute to their thinking about totally new roads.

Leave a Reply

