Skip to content

The way back machine

October 29, 2013

I’m getting ready to hit the road for a couple of weeks and while I’m definitely feeling a bit guilty about being gone for so long, I’ve got itchy feet and am ready for a change of scene. I used to hate going to academic conferences. They taxed my innate tendencies toward introversion. They still do. But while I still feel just as socially awkward, I have many more friends to see and many more things to do. So I am mostly busy and happy. At least until Saturday, when I generally start to turn catatonic and want to sit in the center of my bed in a hotel room all to myself and stick my fingers in my ears.

But then I go over those magic words: “hotel room all to myself.” Once I do that, I even start to look forward to the plane ride.

I’ve written a lot about conferences over the years. My second ever post was about conferences, not that I was attending, but as filtered through Alex Ross in a story in the New Yorker. you can read that post, imported from a previous incarnation here. I went looking for the post earlier because Mr. Spy asked me who had written it and I wanted to make sure it was really Ross. It was then that I discovered that somehow, when I wasn’t looking, I’d passed my 10-year anniversary of blogging back on July 10. Ten years is a long time to do anything, so although I fully recognize that I’ve been a bit of a slacker in the blogging department lately, I am still pretty impressed that I’ve stuck with it for so long. I’ve gone from AJ’s first day of preschool past his first day of 7th grade. It is a bit unexpected.

But back to Ross’ article. It’s one of my favorite things written about a musicology conference ever, and yes, the fact that one of the section headings is “Interrogating Bruce’s Butt” [as in Springsteen] is probably a contributing factor. You should read it. Because I think we can all agree that Springsteen’s butt deserves a closer look.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2013 9:55 am

    We are looking forward to seeing you.
    A decade of blogging! (!)

  2. October 30, 2013 2:01 pm

    Heh.

Leave a Reply

