Skip to content

Life on Mars

November 21, 2013

There is much going on at the Toy Factory this week:

* I’m working on an insane number of toys at once. This makes me nervous. And also tired.

* One of the toymakers is behaving badly. Very badly. He has very nearly derailed the project and he is making a lot of work for us. I am surviving by taking the high road in real life and the low road in my head. “It is almost over” is my new mantra. If I had a voodoo doll, it would look like a porcupine.

*One of my toys was written about in two papers of record on the same day. You know what happens when two papers of record cover your toy on the same day? You get a thank you note from the president of the Toy Factory. I have been here more than two years now and I am still amazed to work at a place where when people think you’re doing a good job, they tell you so.

In other news, we are making holiday plans. I haven’t had a day off in nearly three weeks, so a holiday is sounding pretty good right now. And while I’m a little sad that it will just be the three of us, I’m grateful that I don’t have to get on yet another plane next week. Thanksgiving groceries are accumulating in odd corners of the apartment. There are cans of pumpkin on the pantry shelf and bag of flour stands on top of the refrigerator a little too close to the door. It is an Abbott and Costello gag waiting to happen. It adds that crucial element of danger to everyday living.

And speaking of danger, a friend of mine has shared this list of 27 things only New Yorkers are afraid of and even though I am seriously irritated by headlines declaring random numbers of things in a list, I am, in fact, afraid of all of these things and thus found it very funny. Also, the cellar doors are no joke. Ditto for the upside-down subway dudes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2013 9:12 am

    Oh dear, I am so sorry to hear this about the toymaker. I wish I could take you out for a drink. Also please remember my earlier offer of assistance — still totally stands.

    Hahahaha, being kicked in the head by the upside-down subway dudes has ALWAYS been my fear. Or also seeing them get injured! They are not made of rubber! That’s one reason I have tended to take the B train. It’s configured differently to many of the other trains and there’s not enough free space for the upside-down subway guys to do their thing.

  2. eleanorio permalink
    November 22, 2013 9:32 am

    A holiday sounds good about now. I’m looking forward to one, as well.

  3. November 22, 2013 8:24 pm

    Good heavens!
    The day off sounds very good, as does the lack of travel. I think I don’t have to go anywhere for thanksgiving or Christmas and it feels like a gift from the baby Jesus.

  4. November 24, 2013 10:49 am

    yeah, that list? TOTALLY.

  5. November 24, 2013 1:33 pm

    Thank you, Jenny! If this project does end in murder, I will consider it a success. Good to know about the B train. The F is usually too crowded for this kind of behaviour (at least at the times I am on it). But the few times I’ve gotten on the M have been alarming. Happy holidays and safe travels to all!

Leave a Reply

