Skip to content

Two figs

November 26, 2013

Yesterday was one of those days where just about everything that could possibly have gone wrong did. It started with an overcrowded subway with rude people on it (Why yes, I do enjoy getting yelled at by a stranger for, er, standing? Breathing? I’m not entirely sure. The nerve of me!). And it evolved into, well, let’s just say a lot of grumpy people doing a lot of grumpy things. All of my co-workers seemed to be in the same boat. It was just one of those days. The ones that drive you to drink.

Today was much better, mainly by comparison. But also because it’s starting to feel like the holidays. People were stashing suitcases by their desks and discussing cooking around the coffeemaker. I took a walk at lunchtime to clear my head and ended up near a shop on Park Avenue that had lights in the window. I wandered inside and a few minutes later, I’d started my Christmas shopping. I know better than to feel virtuous. I will not be done until the bitter end.

There are times when walking out into the rain at the end of a long workday with headphones in your ears is liberating. Today was one of those times. The subway was stuffed again, but this time it was full of people offering each other their seats. It was better. And even though my phone went rogue and downloaded every single song I own, playing havoc with my workout-oriented playlist, Webern’s Variations for Orchestra is strangely good subway music. And the segue into the Replacements was extremely entertaining.

A couple of pies and a play through my new issue of Acoustic Guitar later and I feel like a new person. Or I would if there weren’t a snarling almost teen in the next room. But maybe a dose of reality is a good thing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2013 9:56 pm

    Bitter end indeed! Christmas shopping is the loveliest! I am a bit sad that I left too soon for the Christmas markets. They always cheer me up when I am feeling blue.

Leave a Reply

