Skip to content

Kiss, kiss, bang, bang

December 5, 2013

It’s been one of those weeks where the New Yorkiness of New York is bashing you over the head. Repeatedly.

* On a packed Monday morning subway ride, two men nearly come to blows. As they exit (at the same station), we see that both are carrying yoga mats. Yoga, you are doing it wrong.

* Number of subway rides this week with an air cast on my right foot: 10. Number of times someone offered me a seat: 0. Way to live up to your reputation, New Yorkers.

* Yesterday, I passed Michael J. Fox on the corner near my office while a film crew was working on equipment set up nearby. Okay, I may have varied my intended direction after a co-worker had mentioned he was standing there, but anything you heard about me yelling, “Hey, McFly” as I walked by is entirely unfounded.

* This insane story.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2013 1:49 pm

    Ah, a real “namaste outta my way” moment. Would have been epic if they whapped each other with their mats.

  2. December 6, 2013 6:20 pm

    Okay, that last story is nuts. That doesn’t sound like NY to me. That just sounds nuts.

  3. December 6, 2013 10:39 pm

    Pandionna, if it is possible for someone to be beaten to death with a yoga mat, I am sure that it will happen first on the MTA at rush hour. Readersguide, it is nuts. Horrifying and nuts.

  4. December 8, 2013 10:15 pm

    You should ask people to let you sit. If I were there I would ask for you! They will then be embarrassed and get up straight away, I’m 75% sure. What were the two yoga guys fighting over?

  5. December 8, 2013 10:29 pm

    Not so easy, actually. People who don’t want to stand will do anything to avoid looking at you. And sometimes they’ll argue with you about who deserves to sit more. Really. It wasn’t worth it. Plus I’ve gotten pretty good at standing on one foot for 45 minutes. All those years of Tree pose are finally paying off. I’m not sure what they were fighting over, as they were halfway down the car from me, but I’m guessing one of them hit the other with a yoga mat (which would have been pretty unavoidable on a train as crowded as that one). And the the other guy kept telling him to relax, which did not seem to have the intended effect. MTA theater!

Leave a comment