Skip to content

Christmas time is here

December 22, 2013

We are celebrating Christmas today at Spy Headquarters, the first of three Christmases in three different states. So it is especially odd to have all the windows open and to be watching people walking by on the sidewalk below in shorts. Out shopping last night, all the local restaurants that had recently pulled in their sidewalk tables had put them out again. “Spring is here!” proclaimed one billboard. So it’s particularly hard to imagine what to pack for our visit to Chicago, where it’s supposed to be in the single digits. On the other hand, everyone’s new sweaters and mittens and socks are likely to be put to good use. And given that outdoor activities may be curtailed somewhat, all our new books will also likely see some use. And I’ve already cracked open the new book of guitar tab AJ got me and have arrived at a surprisingly serviceable version of Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring.” It’s nice feeling at least marginally accomplished while still wearing pajamas. Although that is also fairly easy if, as I did yesterday, you stay in your pajamas until noon. This vacation thing? Kind of a good idea.

The has been much baking (my maternal grandmother’s sugar cookies, my paternal grandmother’s lebkuchen, and an imaginary friend (whom I’ve actually met in person, so not totally imaginary). My office had a cookie bakeoff. I did not win place or show (you have to include chocolate for that to happen), but my cookies were gone, so I consider them a success.

602152_10152077180604661_1889198882_n

There has been a great deal of Mod Podge and glitter involved in a Christmas project with AJ, which, since some of the future recipients haunt this page, I will not show you just yet. It’s been the most hectic Christmas I can remember. Mr. Spy and I have each had enough work to keep three of us busy. But to come from that and suddenly find yourself on vacation is magical.

On my last day at the office, Mr. Spy and AJ came down to my office with the intent of doing Christmasy things in Manhattan, just like in the movies. We had a nice time listening to carollers at the Morgan Library, but the packed streets by Rockefeller Center were so unpleasant, that I didn’t notice how beautiful it was until I got home and saw the pictures.

1526385_10152090102154661_492696279_n

1458677_10152090102374661_634508670_n

It’s similar with our apartment. We complain about it all the time. It’s too small. There’s stuff everywhere. I’m always covered in bruises from running into the furniture. And then we take a picture and think, maybe it’s not so bad.

1488064_10152090102659661_867218025_n

I’m not too sure about my posting schedule this week, so to cover my bases, a Merry Christmas to all those who are celebrating this week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2013 10:09 pm

    I like it when someone else braves the crowds to get those pretty pictures of the city sidewalks!

  2. December 23, 2013 9:30 am

    Merry Christmas! I miss you! I hope that you and AJ and Mr Spy have as relaxing a Christmas as possible given all the dashing about and celebrating in different locales! 🙂

  3. December 23, 2013 11:50 am

    Merry Christmas to you too. Today might be the first day with relaxation for me. But then again, I might not have time. But it will come! There is a slim chance of clothing (other than pj’s) on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

