Skip to content

The life I love is makin’ music with my friends

March 1, 2014

I’m currently sitting in a hotel room in Atlanta with a half a bottle of wine and a stack of proofreading.

Here are some things I’ve learned.

1. I still like jumping on the bed.
2. I get sentimental when I drink alone.
3. Getting to walk outside without a coat on the first day of March may get me through the snowstorm I’m flying home to.
4. Working is often what I want to do when I’ve got time to myself. I’m okay with that.
5. Work also appears to be what my two direct reports want to do on the weekends. We were all on email this afternoon.
6. I love my coworkers. Sadly, one of them is leaving at the end of next week. She’s not going far, but still, I’m going to miss her.
7. I am an introvert who loves talking to people. Is that possible? I have thoroughly enjoyed each and every conversation I’ve had here, from the reunions with grad school colleagues I haven’t seen in months or years to dinner with my high school friend and her family to the highly analytical discussion with a very smart person in my field to the conversation with an eccentric elderly woman who presided over her table in the exhibit hall like a tarot reader. But at the same time, I’m desperate to get back to my room every night where it’s quiet and I don’t have to talk to anyone.
8. I’m ready to go home.
9. I can’t believe I have to do this again next week.
10. 4 states, 3 weeks, 2 time zones, one tired Harriet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2014 8:52 pm

    Being an introvert means you recharge best alone, not that you don’t like to talk to people. Sounds like a lovely time, esp the outside without a coat bit. I do love Atlanta so much, I have never had a bad time there. Hope the rest of your travels are as enjoyable.

  2. March 2, 2014 7:55 am

    I like making music with my friends, too.

  3. March 2, 2014 9:02 am

    I love to talk to people. I love being in exciting places with lots going on. I must have quiet when I leave those places or my head threatens to explode. I get it. And I loved having you over for dinner!

Leave a Reply

