Skip to content

Oi vellox

May 6, 2014

My site stats tell me that I’m getting quite a few hits from Brazil these days from an ISP called Oi Vellox. I’ve become somewhat obsessed with the name. It’s fun to say. I can’t decide whether it is to be my new curse word, the encomium of a poem, the name of my next hypothetical band, or the villainess in the imaginary James Bond movie I’m casting in my head. Perhaps all three.

In other news, The Toy Factory is still kicking my ass, but at least it’s no longer in a soul killing way and much more in a, “Let’s all get together and put on a show!” way. Instead of spending so much of my time telling people to fix stuff they broke (although there’s still some of that too), I am spending much more time asking people to do things they love, which is obviously a lot more fun. But still, there are just a lot of things to do and even though it’s much more fun than the last few months, I still can’t stay awake past 10:30, which is proving detrimental to my writing projects. Also detrimental: the fact that the teenager who lives in my house refuses to go to bed at 7 like he used to. The nerve! So sorry, Mr. Editor! My book review is almost done, I swear! And it is too, with a little motivational support from a friend of mine who just started working at the Toy Factory. She’s also working on a dissertation, so we’ve been meeting at lunch to write. Last week she had a meeting at lunch, but stopped by my desk to tell me to write on her way out. And the thing is, if she hadn’t, I wouldn’t have. It’s nice having people looking out for you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2014 12:10 pm

    It is nice — I am looking for this person to make sure I go to the gym.

  2. May 8, 2014 8:03 pm

    It IS nice to have people looking out for you. And also, sort of, holding you accountable! I’m embarrassed at how much more faithful I was about doing dishes when I lived with roommates, for instance — just knowing that somebody else is watching can be a huge motivator.

  3. May 9, 2014 6:28 am

    Readersguide, I could use that person to make sure I go to the gym as well. Jenny, I never really had a problem with the dishes when I lived alone, but since sharing space with others, I have at least become embarrassed by my penchant for having breakfast cereal for dinner.

Leave a Reply

