Skip to content

The dog ate my homework

June 10, 2014

Hello, internet! Are we still on the internet? Is it still a thing? We haven’t moved on to some new technology while I wasn’t looking, have we? Good.

I have not good excuses. I think about writing more than I write these days, at least outside the office. And then the more time goes by and the more things I’ve missed, the harder it is to dust myself off and get back in the saddle.

So here’s the short version.

The hard drive crashed on my office laptop. Let us have a moment of silence.
.
.
.
But it wasn’t silent at all. There was a lot of screaming. Or maybe that was just the voices in my head. In the end, they were able to save most of my stuff and all of the important stuff. And I now have one of the IT guys on my speed dial. So that’s useful.

If you’re counting, this is my third laptop in less than three years. My last one fried in an even more spectacular fashion almost exactly a year ago. So far, no one is giving me a hard time, except one of my bosses who made fun of me in a staff meeting.

I went to a college reunion with a really big number and something like 30% of my graduating class showed up, which was amazing. Most of whom I didn’t know because for some reason, most of my friends were ahead or behind me. But I drove up with Cranky and J and a friend of ours who grew up in New York but now lives in Prague.

I am not big on reliving my past, but I have strong feelings for the place that is my alma mater And there’s something nice returning to a place you love with people who loved it too, even if they didn’t necessarily love it in exactly the same way you did. It was an intense time and it’s a special place and it was nice to be there with people to whom you didn’t need to explain any of it. I went for a lot of walks alone in the woods and I saw otters and I danced my ass off by myself for the first time in decades. But the thing that I wasn’t expecting was to gain understanding of my 20-year-old self. I learned that I knew who I was then much better than I thought I did. It was interesting to realize that. And to go back and feel like a much more confident version of that 20-year-old but still very much the same person. To go back and realized how much that time and place shaped me, and to feel so very grateful for the opportunity to be there.

Also, if you want to have a good time just about anywhere, I highly recommend taking a four year old in a tutu.

And then I came back and made it into the office for one day to welcome our new assistant and then promptly got sick as a dog (perhaps it was the homework that disagreed with me or perhaps it was a weekend spent with someone who talked so much that the only recourse was to close your eyes and fall asleep before she noticed you were no longer listening) and when I finally made it back to the office a week later, I was more behind than ever before. And now, a week after returning, I am finally feeling like I’m digging out, but don’t tell anyone, because I’m pretty sure this won’t last long.

And also, I am going to England in less than two weeks. The Toy Factory is sending me for reasons I don’t fully understand. I keep expecting the trip to be cancelled at the last minute. Basically, a few months ago one of my toymakers asked if I could go to England and help him with something. I said I don’t know, but I could ask my boss. And I did, fairly confident that she’d say no. But then she said yes. So basically, I’m going to England to talk to people about what I love to talk about most and someone else is paying for it. And I get to see the Toy Factory’s Mother House where I will meet some people who have, until now, been only names on email. In my off hours, I am hoping to hear a lot of evensongs and see a couple of old friends on the side. And also? I just signed up for my very own reader’s card at the British Library so I can dig around in some Toy Factory related archives. Could this trip be any nerdier? No, it could not. And that’s the way we like it. I am also planning a visit to the apartment I used to live in, where hopefully I will not be arrested for stalking. I will be interested to see if I still remember my way around.

The one sad thing is that Mr. Spy and AJ aren’t coming. This is because of the other major distraction from blogging, which is that Mr. Spy’s mother has been very ill. It didn’t seem the year to introduce them to Europe.

So more adventures to come, I hope.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 11, 2014 1:45 pm

    “I think about writing more than I write these days.” Yes, exactly. Very excited about your England excursion!

  2. June 12, 2014 1:54 pm

    I am having a moment of silence for your work hard drive. That is awful awful news.

    But going to England sounds BRILLIANT. I am so so envious. Have the best time.

  3. June 12, 2014 2:06 pm

    Phew! that is a lot!

  4. June 12, 2014 5:48 pm

    While I know you will miss Mr and Junior Spy, there’s a certain freedom you’ll have while in London alone. What a fun adventure for you!

  5. June 13, 2014 8:48 am

    If the Mother House is where I think it is, you could bone up on Harry Potter movie locations and visit one of the most famous and recognizable and take photos for junior spy, who must be as big a Harry Potter fan as any other kid alive now.

  6. June 13, 2014 8:49 am

    I am reportedly dining at Hogwarts. You had better believe I will be taking pictures.

  7. lemming permalink
    June 18, 2014 8:18 am

    Nonsense. The Hogwarts Great Hall is in Gambier, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

