Skip to content

‘Cause the next one’s gonna be the best one

September 8, 2014

Do you remember that time when you were a kid, maybe 8, maybe 10, and your parents kissed you goodbye, locked the front door behind them and went to the neighbor’s house for a cup of sugar, a chat, or some mysterious thing called “cocktails,” leaving you home alone? Do you remember that moment where it seems like the bottom has fallen out of the universe just for a minute, where you think,”But what am I supposed to DO?” And then how you realize you know exactly what to do? That’s pretty much been the last three weeks at work for me. Everything’s changed and nothing has changed. It’s an odd combination.

My boss is gone for a few months and my other boss is gone for a week. The inmates are running the asylum. But we’re well behaved inmates with an excellent work ethic, so it’s mostly okay, as long as we don’t remember to stop and think, “Do I really know what I’m doing?”

* * * * *

In case you were wondering, Mr. Spy is in the next room playing his third straight cover of The Vertebrats’ “Left in the Dark.” I wasn’t sure who it was (it turned out to be Uncle Tupelo) at first and because I am lazy and didn’t want to walk 12 feet to his computer, which would have involved, you know, standing, I opted to google the song name. The first two hits are 1. Meat Loaf, and 2. Barbra Streisand. They are singing different songs, but it made me desperately want a Streisand-Meat Loaf mega-concert. I am costuming it in my head. And also wondering whether Babs would address him as “Mr. Loaf” or “Meat.”

* * * * *

My second full time job at the moment is navigating high school admission season, which is in full swing. There are spreadsheets involved. And books. And did you know you need tickets to go to school open houses? And sometimes they sell out faster than a Broadway show (although they’re a lot cheaper). Insanity. If the open houses are this hard to get into, what about the schools.

This will take a lot of wine. And maybe a massage or two. And possibly a shrink. Welcome to New York. This seems to be how most people deal with living here.

And how is your September?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. eleanorio permalink
    September 9, 2014 11:53 am

    Well, since you asked, I have a recital on the 19th for which I don’t feel I’m quite ready. I still don’t know who my new students are, or even if I have any; we’re looking at major excavation around our house to fix/replace the weeping tiles plus all the repairs necessitated indoors by water seeping into the basement. This is not a good month to be a homeowner. You got out at a good time. By the way, when did high school become so complicated? Ah, I remember a simpler time.

  2. September 10, 2014 11:16 am

    I’m trying to look for the bright side. While I went to the middle school last night to meet the teachers, I left my boys home alone and they cleaned up the kitchen and made themselves lunches while I was gone. When did they get capable of that? (Of course the lunches were still sitting, unrefrigerated, on the counter when I got home.)

  3. September 10, 2014 5:09 pm

    Ugh. Meatloaf 😦

    And double ugh, your second job of the high school stuff!

    September should be relatively calm, although I have some sewing projects I want to get done. We’ll see.

  4. September 10, 2014 6:50 pm

    Good Lord. Drink plenty of wine; high school admissions sound terrible. If I were there, I’d take you out for a malbec!

  5. September 11, 2014 11:54 am

    Today is the first day I haven’t felt absolutely frantic about getting things done since mid-July. And that’s for a “part-time” job…and two kids off to colleges and an elderly mother and pet and yes, water in the basement again. I cleaned up the house a bit today and it’s going to stay clean for a while.
    You, meanwhile, are in the intensive parenting years, when you need all your intellectual and emotional capacity to help your kid forge his way. Good luck with that.

Leave a Reply

