Skip to content

The season of mellow fruitfulness

October 4, 2014

The heavens have opened and the rain, long awaited and much needed, is washing us all clean.

I have new rainboots, which makes me feel like I’m five years old, wanting to stomp in every puddle I go through. Fortunately, there are plenty of opportunities, as every gutter looks like a river. “If you had a boat,” I told J as Cranky and J and I walked home from our weekly trip to the farmer’s market, “you could sail down the hill to the East River.” J looked down the hill as if she could see it.

While the crowds are thinning at the market and most people lament the end of summer, this is my favorite time of year for shopping, and not just because of fewer people. While I’m sad about the end of the peaches — I bought one last batch today, almost certainly to be a disappointment after a summer of incredible peaches (read my friend Joy’s incredible post on peaches and other things here). But I also bought zucchini and tomatoes — we have a few more weeks left for them– two silvery mackerel filets, milk and yogurt, apples, Concord grapes, and kale, beets, Brussels sprouts, and an incredible bouquet of parsley so beautiful that I put it in a vase on my counter.

Right now there are Brussels sprouts roasting in the oven, Beets simmering on the stove next to a pot of steaming zucchini, celery and parsley for yogi mush, which is, despite the complete absence of anything even a little bit bad for you, is my very favorite thing to take to work for lunch. Next, I’ll be roasting garlic to make a buttermilk dressing for kale salad and kneading up some pizza dough for dinner. I have fallen in love with kale salad from a local take-out place and I’m committed to trying to figure out a way to make it myself. The bunch of kale is dauntingly large. I hope I don’t screw it up.

Cooking on a rainy fall day is one of my favorite things to do. Even AJ has emerged from his lair sniffing, “Mmm, what smells so good?” Now what are the odds that I can get him to try the beets?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. magpiemusing permalink
    October 4, 2014 5:50 pm

    Yogi mush, huh? We too had a delightful day, not dissimilar. Rain at the farmers market – followed by a pot of chili, a vat of tomato puree (put up in jars, even) and another vat of ragu bolognese (which will be frozen tomorrow unless we get psyched up to get out the pressure canner). And 8 months worth of bank statements, RECONCILED.

  2. October 5, 2014 9:01 am

    Buttermilk dressing! Look at you all fancy! And here I’ve been feeling good about myself for planning a salad dressing that features basil. :p

  3. October 5, 2014 9:05 pm

    I have a couple of recipes that require buttermilk that inevitably leave me with 3/4 of a container. I can only eat so many pancakes. Dressing is a great way to use it up. As for yogi mush, I first tried it as part of a challenge from one of my yoga teachers and I found that I really like it.

  4. the other theo permalink
    October 6, 2014 1:20 pm

    The subject of children eating beets is something of a joke in our household. We attended a holiday gathering some years ago, in which a young child was in poor temper because of hunger and dinner was still some time away. When a survey of the refrigerator was made, a guest firmly suggested giving the child beets because “all toddlers love fruits and vegetables.”

  5. the other theo permalink
    October 6, 2014 1:31 pm

    Three quarters of a container of buttermilk is just about the amount required to soak chicken pieces to make fried chicken. No pancakes required. Speaking of… I have to figure out what to do with that leftover buttermilk I got to make waffles and green goddess dressing.

  6. October 6, 2014 2:05 pm

    Oi. If only it were feasible to send you my surfeit of courgettes. When will I learn that two or three plants are STILL too many?

  7. October 7, 2014 7:23 pm

    When I have buttermilk, I make cornbread.

Leave a Reply

