Skip to content

A room of one’s own

October 21, 2014

At 5:30, the janitor came into my new office.

“You move?” he asked. “From over there?”

“Yes.”

“Oh. Too bad. The window is nice.”

Yes, the window is nice, but so is the door. AJ called me at my office and I didn’t have to keep my voice extra low or tell him I’ll call him back. All I had to do was get up and shut the door.

The new space is very quiet. And the books that were piled on my desk? They take up an alarming amount of space when on actual bookshelves. I don’t have nearly as much leftover space as expected.

My new next-door neighbor stopped by to survey the damage.

“Where did you have all these books in your cubicle?”

“Everywhere.”

“I guess!”

At the end of the day, I shut the door just because I could. I turned some music on low, just because I could, and started putting files in drawers. It was nice. I think I like it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 22, 2014 10:57 am

    Maybe you need to vary some nature themed art/photos on your wall. Or choose a scenery screen saver…

Leave a Reply

