Skip to content

Wherever you go, there you are.

November 16, 2014

Road warrior.  I’ve been called that three times today.  It’s not that I haven’t heard that phrase before, but it’s not one I’ve ever considered in relation to myself.  But as I’ve been traveling for two weeks across four states and heading back home on plane number 6 tomorrow, I suppose it’s apt.  Still, it makes me feel like Buckaroo Banzai.

Last week I was in Milwaukee by way of a ridiculously short flight from Chicago.  The flight attendant made the “you have now reached our cruising altitude” announcement, sat down for approximately 90 seconds, and stood up again to tell us it was time to put our tray tables in their upright and locked positions.  It was the busiest conference I’ve ever attended. I talked to people all day long.  I came home (for less than 48 hours) voiceless and exhausted.

This week I’m in Pittsburgh. And while it’s still busy, the pace is much more humane and I’ve had the time to do some nice things.  An old friend roomed with me for a couple of days. I had someone come up to tell me she’d defended her dissertation and that she’d thanked me in the acknowledgements because a conversation we’d had several years ago had been so helpful to her.  And my recent promotion was announced publicly in a roomful of people whose opinions matter to me, which was totally unexpected. I also met lots of interesting people, reconnected with old friends, met some fellow twitterers, and had a visit from Jeanne and her husband, who drove several hours so that we could eat Italian food together. It was a lovely weekend all round, and while I’m still going home tired, I’m also feeling very excited about some new projects coming in and also about getting back to my own research and writing.  I’m learning how to tame my introverted tendencies — it helps when you have to be extroverted among fellow introverts.

My brain is full, my energy level is not.  Time for bed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2014 12:48 pm

    Now, if only you could tell me what that watermelon is doing there.

  2. Jeannette permalink
    November 19, 2014 4:14 pm

    I’m bummed I didn’t get my annual dinner from Toy Company (er…get to spend more time with you). 😉 Milwaukee was crazy for me, too. And that time you called me so I’d have your number, the call didn’t go through.

    Congrats on all the things!!

Leave a Reply

