Skip to content

Eight days a week

January 24, 2015

We haven’t been spending very much time at Spy Headquarters.

On Monday, I washed ALL the things.  My house is still pretty clean as a result. I have been on a purge binge.  It’s important to do that regularly when you live in a tiny apartment.

On Tuesday after work, I went to see a colleague give a reading on the occasion of the publication of his first novel. He was awesome and the book is great and I find it amazing that anyone can write a book that I want to read in just their off hours.  It was standing room only. I’d guess close to half in attendance were from the Toy Factory, which should tell you something about why I love working there.

On Wednesday after work, I met one of my cousins, whom I hadn’t seen in close to 20 years, at a restaurant near Times Square that Cranky had recommended.  We had a great time and wondered why it had been so long since we’d seen each other.

On Thursday night, we went out to the end of Brooklyn for a dinner for scholarship awardees at one of the schools AJ is considering.  We got to sit with one of his buddies from school.  The food was delicious but the school didn’t feel like us.  I think AJ liked it though.  It’s still in the running.

On Friday night, I collapsed.  We watched Land Ho!, which reminded me an awful lot of Sideways and The Trip (there are only so many movies about aging male friends going on road trips that I can keep straight), but was worth seeing for the incredible scenery in Iceland.

Today we all stayed in bed late and watched the snow fall.  Then we headed to Manhattan for an open house at another of the high schools that gave AJ a scholarship.  We’d been there before but hadn’t had a real tour.  It was more impressive than we realized on several fronts.  On the way home, a crazy woman threw a can of Coke at my head.  She singled me out of all the people on a crowded subway car and spat in my face, got off the train, and beaned me.  The weird thing was, about six months ago, the same woman was at a different subway stop and did something similar.  She’d seemed a little whacky but not violent, but then suddenly turned on me and started screaming at me from about an inch from my face, threatening to push me on the tracks.  In both cases I was just standing there.  Something about me seems to piss her off, for some reason.  In both cases, we had no idea how to report the incident and then didn’t.  Hope she doesn’t do it to someone else. Also hope not to run into her again any time soon.

Hope your week was calmer.  What’s keeping you busy?

Tomo

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2015 8:54 pm

    That last bit – yikes, Harriet. Hope you are okay.

  2. January 25, 2015 9:34 pm

    Gosh, I VERY much hope that lady doesn’t encounter you again. I do not want you to have further things thrown at you! There was a lady sometimes on the 3 train who would scream apocalyptically about harlots and if you moved AT ALL while she was speaking, she’d come scream it right in your face. With spitting.

  3. freshhell permalink
    January 26, 2015 12:05 pm

    Wow. How frightening – the crazy woman. Sad when you need actual armor to walk down the street.

  4. January 27, 2015 9:09 am

    Sometimes you resemble someone that a crazy person has engaged with. In my 20s, I had the odd experience of having strangers think they knew me. Eventually one of them figured out that I bore a passing resemblance to someone with long, dark hair in a soap opera that was popular at the time.

  5. January 29, 2015 7:07 pm

    I think that’s probably true, Jeanne. Although Jenny, that’s exactly what happened. I wonder if it’s the same woman. Maybe I should start wearing a helmet to work.

Leave a Reply

