Skip to content

Thank you

June 26, 2015

Today I was going to write about something else entirely and I’ll probably post it someday. But not today. Today I’m going to tell you a couple of stories.

A few days ago, on a beautiful summer evening celebrating AJ’s baseball team winning the league championship with a picnic and cocktails in the park. I was talking to the two moms of one of AJ’s teammates and they were telling me about what it was like when they were first together and pregnant and living in a neighborhood that was dangerous and not very open-minded. When they took their son to day care for the first time, they weren’t sure what to do but finally told the director, “C has two moms.” “Oh, no,” the director said. “Oh, no, no, no, no, no.” All of us listening made noises of concern. But the woman telling the story assured us it was not what we thought. “The director said, ‘I don’t want the ex wife coming down here and then the wife coming down here — someone always gets in a fight.” We all laughed, but not the teller of the story. “I cried. I couldn’t stop crying.”

* * * * *

Yesterday, I met up with a toymaker I work with at a conference I was attending. He lives on the West Coast with the man he’s been calling his husband for longer than he’s been legally able to do so, and I only get to see him once or twice a year. When I ran into him in the hallway yesterday, he had his phone in his hand, checking the Supreme Court rulings like my son checks for White Sox scores. We both cheered at the preservation of ACA. “Tomorrow,” he said. “They say it’s going to come tomorrow.”

* * * * *

It’s tomorrow.

* * * * *

Months ago, the park near my apartment scheduled a screening of Paris is Burning for tonight. I remember seeing thing film in college and being overwhelmed. It’s not a happy film, but there is joy and I predict it’s going to be the biggest fucking party my neighborhood has seen in a long time.

* * * * *

Today I’m thinking about everyone who will feel this most and I’m happy for them. Tomorrow I’m going to be happy for me, because tomorrow, the world will be a little bit better than it was yesterday.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 26, 2015 2:51 pm

    It is a very, very good day.

  2. eleanorio permalink
    June 26, 2015 6:57 pm

    Amen.

  3. June 28, 2015 4:08 pm

    It’s tomorrow! I had hoped for flying cars too, but it’s good to finally get here.

  4. June 29, 2015 6:13 pm

    yes

Leave a Reply

