Skip to content

Happy New Year

January 3, 2016

I haven’t done this questionnaire in a few years, but I’m feeling reflective this year and thought I’d resurrect it. Originally stolen from the lovely Mel Wadel.

  1. What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before?  Joined a band! And also started a pick up band at work that lets me play guitar with others. Let’s put a big checkmark in the midlife crisis column, shall we?
  1. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions and will you make more for next year? I didn’t make any. I seldom do. But I actually have one this year, which is to write more here. More about that in my next post.
  1. Did anyone close to you give birth? My now far-away friend Fairlywell had a beautiful baby boy!
  1. Did anyone close to you die? No. But a number of people close to me lost parents this year.
  1. What countries did you visit? I stayed stateside this year. But I’m looking forward to making my first ever trip to Vancouver in 2016.
  1. What would you like to have in 2016 that you lacked in 2015? An assistant at the office. Ain’t gonna happen, but a girl can dream.
  1. What dates from 2015 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? The day my husband’s book went to auction
  2. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Speaking at a conference on a panel with much more senior scholars than myself and not freaking out. Starting an acoustic jam at my office (not sure if that’s really a “biggest achievement” but it’s one of the things I’ve enjoyed the most), joining a band and playing in public for the first time in a long while.
  3. What was your biggest failure? There is one particular task at the Toy Factory that continues to frustrate me. I wouldn’t call it a failure exactly in the sense that I got done what I needed to get done, but I have some sort of mental block about it that I’m hoping I can get past this year.
  4. Did you suffer illness or injury? I broke my finger on Halloween and will most likely be continuing to deal with that injury into 2016, unfortunately.
  5. What was the best thing you bought? My guitar, hands down. I’m still in love.
  6. Whose behavior merited celebration? I’m kind of fond of Carrie Fisher right now.
  7. Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed? Pretty much anyone in Washington or anyone who wants to be in Washington. Also anyone with a gun.
  8. Where did most of your money go? Rent, duh. This is NYC.
  9. What did you get really excited about? My kid’s rock band concerts. Have you heard him play? He’s awesome.
  10. What song will always remind you of 2015? For a song that captures the general zeitgeist of the year, I’d have to pick Meghan Trainor’s “All About That Bass.” But personally, I’d pick “Angel City” off of Rhiannon Giddens’ album Tomorrow Is My Turn, which was released in 2015. I also got to see her live this summer in the park by my house. She didn’t do this particular song there, but I’ve been playing and singing it non-stop for months.
  11. Compared to this time last year, are you:
    happier or sadder? Happier, I think, but pretty close to the same.
    thinner or fatter? Fatter. Definitely. Need to do something about that.
    richer or poorer? Richer.
  12. What do you wish you’d done more of? Reading. Sacrificed at the altar of the guitar.
  13. What do you wish you’d done less of? Working late. It almost never fixes anything.
  14. How did you spend Christmas? In Chicago with my husband’s family.
  15. What was your favorite TV program? I watched almost no TV this year, but I did binge rewatch Gilmore Girls and was surprised to find it holds up well.
  16. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?  I didn’t hate anyone then and I don’t hate anyone now. But I’m not too happy with the idiots making laws about guns, letting cops who shoot children dead in cold blood off the hook, gunning down innocent people in the name of religion, etc.
  17. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2015. Do not underestimate the importance of making time for the things that keep you sane.
  18. What was the best book you read? Hmm. Good question. Maybe Stoner (not what it sounds like – it’s the main character’s name) by John Williams (not the composer). I got the novel in my office’s holiday book exchange last year and I’d never heard of it, but it was excellent. I think it was the first book I read this year.
  19. What did you want and not get? A raise.
  20. What was your favorite film of this year?  I only saw one, but it was fun – Spy.
  21. What did you do for your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 48. I had cake with my family.
  22. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? It was actually pretty satisfying. But some overseas travel would have been nice.
  23. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015? It fits and it’s (mostly) clean.
  24. What kept you sane? My guitar.
  25. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? None of them? AJ would be telling me to say “Say Bernie Sanders! Say Bernie Sanders!” So maybe I’ll say Bernie Sanders.
  26. What political issue stirred you the most? The Syrian refugee crisis. Black Lives Matter. Gun violence. I can’t pick. They all break my heart.
  27. Who did you miss? My mother-in-law, who died in 2014. There were so many things that I wish she’d been around to see – AJ’s confirmation and 8th grade graduation, his first day of high school, his band concerts, Mr. Spy’s book contract.
  28. What did you want and get? My guitar.
  29. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. I’m not sure, but it’s probably something by Courtney Barnett, because, as Mr. Spy put it, “She writes about people like us.” You know, nerdy, arty types with social anxiety. “Nobody really cares if you don’t go to the party” is a good one. The chorus is “I wanna go out but I wanna stay home,” which should appeal to introverts everywhere.
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2016 9:33 pm

    Stoner is having an interesting rejuvenation. I loved it when I read it, too.

Leave a Reply

