Skip to content

Ming the Merciless

April 28, 2008

First of all, can I just say to Mother Nature, Are you frickin’ kidding me? Thursday it will be May. We’ve had more snow this year in a decade. So why, on the twenty-eighth day of April, am I driving through a blinding snowstorm? And also, the weatherman promised me we wouldn’t have to shovel. So why is it piling up in my driveway? I am totally disgusted. But don’t think for one minute that this will keep me from complaining bitterly about the heat in a few weeks.

I will set aside my disgust long enough to accommodate Mr. Unfocused’s request that I complete the following meme.

Here are the rules:

1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules.
3. Write six things about yourself.
4. Tag six people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs.
5. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their sites.
6. Let your tagger know when your entry is up.

After all my years of blogging, I’m not sure that there are six things about me that you do not already know, but I’m willing to give it a shot. There will be a pop quiz later.

1. If I had been a boy, my parents were going to name me Steven.

2. I didn’t date any one person more than a few times until graduate school. Some have called me a late bloomer. I merely think that graduate school showed me for the first time that there are things even more miserable than dating, and thus dating seemed less onerous by comparison. No offense intended toward any of my former dates.

3. As a child (roughly age 6-8), my favorite television shows were Family Affair (I was desperate for my own Mrs. Beasley, even though I thought she was totally creepy), Flash Gordon (the old one from the 1930s with Buster Crabbe and Dale Arden, which aired on Saturday mornings on one of our local TV stations), Emergency! (source of my first celebrity crushes on John and Roy) and the cartoon Courageous Cat and Minute Mouse.

4. From the same time period, my favorite records were a recording of Bach’s Brandenburg Concerti (featuring a then-unknown and extremely young Jean-Pierre Rampal), Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake (Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra), Jimmy Cliff’s The Harder They Come, the Beatles’ Revolver, and Mary Martin singing Peter Pan.

5. The huge yellow billboard featuring a segment of broken wall with a face labeled “Mr. Happy Crack” saying “A dry crack is a happy crack!” that I drive by at least six times a week never fails to make me snicker. Sometimes I actually go out of my way to drive by it.

6. It is still snowing outside, but the driveway is starting to melt.

Hmm. Who to tag? I’ll pick some of you I know less well or who haven’t been posting enough lately. I’m commissioned for six tags, but anyone else who wishes to should feel free to jump on the bandwagon.

1. Jeanne

2. peppypilotgirl (who may need a little help getting back to blogging, since she has a BRAND NEW BABY GIRL! Congratulations again, PPG!)

3. Lemming

4. bethb

5. Zuzu

6. Smed

And finally, if you have not yet checked out the fabulous poetry in the comments a couple of posts back, do so immediately! And thanks to all who’ve contributed!

37 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    April 28, 2008 12:24 pm

    I am always happy when my crack is dry. And, btw, in case you missed myacknowledgement last week – because I was too lazy to create a link – thanks for the CD! It’s always nice to have something new to play for Red and Yellow Submarine is her All Time Favorite Song at the moment.

  2. The Lass permalink
    April 28, 2008 3:06 pm

    “Mr. Happy Crack”…I am still trying to digest this… 😀

  3. April 29, 2008 9:31 pm

    Love the sign! Now I have to drive all the way out there just to see it.

  4. May 1, 2008 6:40 am

    Dear Harriet (If that is your real name, which we already know it’s not)…..My name is Sidney Crackstein and I am the agent/bodyguard for Mr. Happy Crack. While we appreciate the nice comments regarding our oh-so desirable mascot, we must mention you’re breaking hundreds (probably thousands) of copyright laws by putting his image on your (articulate and entertaining) blog. However, we will overlook this seismic mistake because we are shameless and starved for attention. Not only that, we would like to send you a free Mr. Happy Crack tshirt along with a personally autographed picture of our level-headed icon. If interested, please provide the necessary details.

    -May All Your Cracks Be Happy,
    S. Crackstein, Esq.

  5. May 3, 2008 4:31 pm

    Dear Sidney (if that is your real name, which we already know it’s not),

    Thank you for your kind offer of a T-shirt and autographed photo, as well as for your shameless flattery. While it is sorely tempting — Mr. Happy Crack is so irresistible (I drove past him on the road today; I could not help myself), I have a firm policy of preserving at least the illusion of anonymity here. And short of asking you to place the t-shirt and photo in an unmarked paper bag at a public drop point sufficiently far from my actual location as to preserve the mystery, which seems a lot to ask, I can imagine no way to obtain said t-shirt and photo without revealing my name and address. So thank you for your kind offer, but I must decline. However, I should tell you that in a display of stunning karmic payback, my basement sprang a leak the very day I posted this. I am hoping Mr. Happy Crack will come in person to fix it. As for the T-shirt, I will have to purchase one the old fashioned way, from your website.

    Harriet the Spy, Almost Ph.D.

  6. May 5, 2008 6:44 am

    Harriet:

    You are as honorable as you are enigmatic and we’d be delighted to fix your basement. And Mr. Happy Crack always appreciates those old-fashioned website orders, not like today with the kids who place them through their x-ray specs and their Dick Tracy wristwatches.

  7. The Lass permalink
    May 5, 2008 9:08 am

    Mmmm…Mr. Happy Crack? I was wondering if there’s a Mrs. Happy Crack. If you catch my drift…*wink*

  8. May 5, 2008 12:47 pm

    I think there must be a Mrs. Happy Crack. Otherwise, how did he get so happy?

  9. freshhell permalink
    May 5, 2008 12:53 pm

    He’s happy because he has Baby Cracks or Crack Babies. Who are happy. Or…something.

  10. The Lass permalink
    May 5, 2008 2:13 pm

    All I know is I think he’s dreamy and I wish I lived in a town that had houses with basements. *sigh*

  11. May 6, 2008 7:25 am

    Please ladies…..What is this, a Tom Jones concert? Control your cougar instincts at once! My client does not discuss and/or address speculative comments about his personal life. You’re all in swoon-mode due to Mr. Happy Crack’s Alpha-Male universal appeal but there will be no comments from my client regarding these matters. My advice: Mother’s Day is coming up, ask for a Mr. Happy Crack thong.

    http://www.mrhappycrack.com/apparel/thong.html

  12. The Lass permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:02 am

    Oooh….that’s one way to keep him close to our crack…er…hearts! What do you say, ladies?

  13. freshhell permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:38 am

    I say HELL NO to thongs. Nasty. If Mr. Happy Crack wants to win my heart, he will send me a mildew-free basement so that I can turn it into a useable space. To fill with chocolate and many non-thong related things.

  14. May 6, 2008 10:51 pm

    I go out of town for a day and a half and don’t have time to get a Happy Crack fix until I get home, and this is what I find?

    The horror, the horror.

  15. May 7, 2008 7:17 am

    I bring a practical, salacious and cost-effective solution to the table and this is what I get? And freshhell, try not to mention ‘mildew’ and ‘thongs’ in the same reply. I’m just saying…………..

    -Sidney Crackstein, Esq.

  16. May 7, 2008 12:19 pm

    What have I been missing! I don’t know about the thing, but the boxers are kind of attractive.

  17. May 7, 2008 12:38 pm

    I agree with you, readersguide. I think the boxers are more my speed these days. As for mildew and thongs….ew.

  18. May 7, 2008 7:37 pm

    I don’t know, ladies. I think a Mr. Happy Crack thong would be a useful addition to my wardrobe. I don’t see the problem – it’s a very positive message, after all.

  19. May 8, 2008 6:11 am

    Please, I feel like I’m reading a script from “Sex & The City”. Speaking of which, have any of you ever tried a Cracktini?

    -S.C. Esq.

  20. May 8, 2008 6:47 am

    Okay, Sidney, I’ll bite. What’s a Cracktini?

  21. May 8, 2008 6:50 am

    And also, Julia? Here’s my problem with the thong: it is not very flattering to all of my stretch marks. But I’d have to agree with you about the message. Because if one’s crack is happy while wearing a thong, then it’s one happy crack.

  22. The Lass permalink
    May 8, 2008 7:55 am

    Mr. Happy Crack, isn’t it a bit disingenuous of you to feign shock at the tone of these comments? After all, you’ve been around a few..uh…cracks in your time. ( Which, frankly, is what makes you so very, very appealing.) Meow. And yeah, I’ll flirt with an company mascot on the internet. What’s it to ya, America?!

  23. May 8, 2008 9:14 am

    Not only is it disingenuous, it’s deceitful, two-faced, hypocritial, insincere and deceptive. And because of that you’re going to start pitching woo with other mascots? Do you really want to get involved with Mr. “Clean”, Mr. “Peanut”, and The Jolly Green “Giant”? My Cracktini recipe will follow soon.

  24. freshhell permalink
    May 8, 2008 9:20 am

    I prefer to think of my time with Quisp and Quake fondly. They knew how to treat a woman right. And thongs never entered into the equation.

  25. May 8, 2008 12:25 pm

    Claudia, I don’t like to be the one to tell you this, but everyone has had a turn with those two little space imps. (Although between you and me and the internet, Quisp always struck me as being a little light in the loafers. Just sayin’. )

    Now stand back, girls! Mr. Happy Crack has a thesaurus and he knows how to use it! *swoon*

  26. May 8, 2008 1:48 pm

    Freshhell and Lass, Quisp and Quake may be imps but they probably recorded the entire thing. Sure you had your fun but didn’t you think about the potential DVD repercussions? Not to mention the lost royalties??? Besides, where did you think the red lights and whirring sounds were coming from? Wait, don’t answer that.

  27. May 8, 2008 8:49 pm

    Lass is right, freshhell. I’d think twice about those two if I were you. Now if you really want to have a good time, I have three words for you: Snap, Crackle, Pop.

  28. The Lass permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:42 am

    Harriet! I should have known that underneath the calm, focused exterior was…something naughty. And Mr. Happy Crack, who do you think set up the cameras? You must not be familiar with my previous work.

  29. freshhell permalink
    May 9, 2008 7:00 am

    Snap, Crackle & Pop are sorely overrated. Been there, done that! Q&Q, on the other hand….I don’t care where they’ve been, all I know is they always brought chocolates and an Al Green record and really, what more could one ask for? The good times rolled. I refer to them now as Mr. Gifted and Mr. Talented.

  30. May 10, 2008 1:12 pm

    I am starting to think that Sidney Crackstein is one and the same as Mr. Happy Crack. The thin veneer of detachment is fading. But really, aren’t we all merely asking for a friend?

    That said, Mr. Brawny really knows how to polish my hardware, if you know what I mean.

  31. May 12, 2008 1:26 pm

    Hey Mr. Brawny, Tom Selleck called, he wants his mustache back. With regards to me and Mr. Happy Crack being one in the same, that’s outrageous. Mr. Happy Crack is loved by everyone. I’m a talent agent. You do the math.

  32. May 13, 2008 7:07 pm

    Good point, Mr. Happy Crack. But where’s that Cracktini recipe?

  33. May 14, 2008 8:23 am

    The Cracktini consists of 2.5oz gin, 3/4 oz. dry vermouth,

  34. May 14, 2008 8:24 am

    4 green olives, a splash of bitters, and a Mr. Happy Crack pen used as a stirrer. Granted, it’s not as sophisticated as we’d like but it still that has James Bond-panache.

  35. freshhell permalink
    May 14, 2008 11:47 am

    And I hope you brought enough Happy Crack pens for the whole class, young man!

Trackbacks

  1. And then there were jackhammers « spynotes
  2. From the Way Back Machine « spynotes

Leave a comment