Skip to content

RIP George Carlin

June 23, 2008

Carlin is the only person quoted in The Spy House more often than The Simpsons. Check out Ed Champion’s page for some excellent links.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. teranika permalink
    June 23, 2008 11:47 am

    I wrote an RIP, too. But here are some favs:

    “Frisbeetarianism is the belief that when you die, your soul goes up on the roof and gets stuck.” – George Carlin

    Or alternatively, from 1983:”An update on the comedian health sweepstakes. I currently lead Richard Pryor in heart attacks 2 to 1. But Richard still leads me 1 to nothing in burning yourself up. See, it happened like this. First Richard had a heart attack. Then I had a heart attack. Then Richard burned himself up. And I said, ‘F**k that. I’m having another heart attack!” But then George beat him in the end…

  2. June 23, 2008 12:02 pm

    I remember the first time I ever saw George Carlin. I was babysitting for the neighbor girl in our Connecticut town while her parents went into New York for an evening. I watched Saturday Night Live for the first time that night. I wasn’t allowed to stay up that late normally, or to watch much television. As it happened, they were rerunning their very first episode, during which George Carlin, whom I’d never heard of at the time (I think it was probably 1980 or so) because, you know, I was 12. He did his baseball vs. football routine and I thought it was the funniest thing I had ever heard. I remember telling my parents about it the next day and they were vaguely horrified that I’d seen Carlin on TV and they told me the show probably wasn’t good for children, which of course made me get all the Saturday night babysitting jobs I could, so I could watch it every week.

  3. The Lass permalink
    June 23, 2008 2:17 pm

    Harriet – Fresh Air is re-running an interview with Carlin today.

  4. June 24, 2008 8:17 am

    Thanks, Lass! I missed Fresh Air yesterday. I’ll have to try to track it down on their website.

Leave a comment