Skip to content

Sixth time’s the charm

November 7, 2008

We can’t stop talking about it.

It’s three days later and we are still riding the high that comes from a sense of having helped do something meaningful in the world.

The kids, though, have moved on.

Before the election, they couldn’t stop talking about it either. They were excited because we were excited. But it was also another piece of the adult world that they didn’t quite understand, that didn’t make sense in their own world view, with its relative lack of history, its inexperience, in most cases, with prejudice and hate. They believe in Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy, but they don’t really believe in slaves, which seem even less plausible. They don’t call people who look like the President Elect Black or African-American. They call them people. Or maybe, if pressed, “people with brown skin.” And we have protected this view, because it’s the view we wish we all could have.

But in the same way they don’t understand why we make such a fine point about race, they don’t understand the two-party system. What’s the difference between a Democrat and a Republican, between an Obamaniac and a McCainist?

On Tuesday, as AJ and I walked home from school, he asked, “Why does everyone think one guy is really great and the other guy is going to, like, blow up the world or something?”

I laughed and tried to explain something I’m not sure I fully understand myself. “They believe very different things. I mean, they both really want to do the best thing for our country, but the things they think are best are very different.”

“Is that like issues?”

“Issues are the things they think are important and the things they’re talking about during their campaign. Things like the war in Iraq, the economy, health care….These are all really big and complicated problems and each candidate has suggested some solutions, but their solutions are very different from one another.”

“So that’s why they hate each other?”

“They don’t hate each other. This is just what people do when they are running for President.”

But then I stopped, because, I thought, this isn’t exactly what people always do. I can’t ever remember an election so polarized, an election where I felt so invested in a single outcome.

I voted in my first Presidential election in 1988, when I was 21 years old. That year Bush the first ran against Michael Dukakis, who at the time was the governor of the state I was living in (although I was still registered in the state my parents lived in, Indiana). The campaign was a mess. It was the year of Gary Hart’s affair with Donna Rice, the year where Joe Biden was accused of plagiarism (thanks to a tape leaked by Dukakis’ team), the year Jesse Jackson, the man who was crying at Obama’s victory speech, almost made a go of it. But the infighting and incompetence of the Democrats discouraged me. And the Reagan-Bush machine terrified me. So this idealistic young voter, the daughter of two Independents, cast a vote for a third party candidate, an African-American woman named Lenora Fulani who had impressed me with her speech on my college campus. I knew she didn’t have a chance. It was a vote of protest. My very first election and I was already jaded.

And for the five Presidential elections I’ve voted in since then, I have voted against someone, not for someone. Until now. Number six. I’m all in. Finally.

But AJ doesn’t have that history. He was three for the last Presidential election, probably the election that depressed me most of all. He doesn’t remember it. Obama is all he knows. No wonder he doesn’t understand why his mother tears up at the sight of the single word headline in Tuesday’s New York Times. To him, it was just an election. To me it was The Election.

For AJ, Obama is likely to become the first President he remembers. I was born in the last years of the Johnson era, but my earliest recollection of a Presidential inauguration is from the Watergate hearings, which I remember because my parents were glued to the news. But I didn’t think of Nixon as a President but as someone on trial. The first President I remember was Gerald Ford, who took office the year I turned 7, the same age AJ is now.

I love the idea of an older AJ with Obama as the model for a Presidential figure. As much as I have tried to impart on him the momentousness of this moment in our history, I am even more in love with the idea that he will grow up in a world that never knew that African-Americans couldn’t be President. It’s the continuation of my generation, the first to come of age after the Civil Rights era. As children, we heard only stories we could hardly believe wrapped up in recordings of the fairy-tale voice of Martin Luther King, Jr. played over and over again by adults who wanted us to understand.

Is there a way for our children to at once remember the historic nature of this election and at the same time not understand it at all? I can suddenly see the world through AJ’s eyes, a world where people of any color can govern the nation. And I realize that no matter what happens in Obama’s presidency, which will certainly be less charmed than his candidacy, the watershed moment has already happened. My son is growing up in a world I will never quite be able to know. And I couldn’t be happier about it.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2008 10:24 am

    My kids didn’t register much about race as a factor in the election until we saw the coverage of Jesse Jackson weeping, etc. and I thought that was a good thing.
    I like the way Nicholas Kristoff quoted MLK Jr. in the NYTimes because, he says, the quote is “an apt description of America today.” MLK ended a 1959 speech by borrowing a prayer from a preacher who had once been a slave:
    “Lord, we ain’t what we ought to be; we ain’t what we gonna be, but, thank God, we ain’t what we was.”

  2. lemming permalink
    November 7, 2008 10:32 am

    Take this for what it’s worth, but what thrills me no end is that Obama’s race had absolutely nothing to do with my vote. The moment (and teh torch) has already passed.

  3. November 7, 2008 10:44 am

    This is exactly, EXACTLY what I’m living right now. I’m trying to avoid getting political on my blog, but I’m sharing your life. My kids were so into the election, but not because of race. It wasn’t until all the headlines since have screamed “First Black President!” that they’re hearing that part of it. HOWEVER, living in the south perhaps makes it more obvious, but on Wed I saw several African American men, strangers to each other each time, giving each other high fives in parking lots etc. For me, it wasn’t an election about race. For them, it most certainly was.

    Since I thought Nixon was part of Masterpiece Theatre (seriously) I remember Ford first too. I think the image one has when they hear the word “President” is that first person who held the role for them. And for my children, it isn’t an old white man. And if they grow up thinking, “Why would someone expect him to be [an old white man]?” then our world will be a better place.

    Read this on Parent Hacks and presented it to Pook. Seems like it explains the challenges of voting somewhat, although not the polarizing “hatred” that confuses AJ.

    The candidates:

    Mrs. Smith:
    Allows 2 pieces of candy after every meal
    Makes children go to sleep at 7:30 pm every night
    Favorite color is pink
    Makes you clean your room every day
    Takes children to the park every day

    Mrs. Clark:
    Never allows candy in the house
    Lets children stay up as late as they want to
    Favorite color is blue
    Lets children make messes and rarely clean up
    Doesn’t take children to the park very often at all

    The way to participate is simple: have your kids decide on a candidate and vote by tonight. Tally the votes. Talk about the results.

  4. freshhell permalink
    November 7, 2008 11:08 am

    We are thinking along the same lines. Perhaps the entry I posted right now is something you can share with AJ. Yes, the Southern perspective on this election can NOT remove race. It’s almost the whole point, in a good way. The outcome of this election will heal so much, so many wounds that have continued to fester. I was not raised to treat African-Americans differently than whites but you are surrounded by this underlying apprehension that whispers, “they are different, beware…” even when you know it’s ridiculous. And now that we’ve done THIS, perhaps soon there will be a woman president and an openly gay president. Nothing’s impossible anymore.

  5. November 7, 2008 11:42 am

    But I haven’t decided if the goal is to ultimately stop caring about race or gender orientation, or to praise individual differences. Do we teach that we’re all the same inside or point out what makes us all different? Or both? My openly gay sister, who has multi-cultural children, would point out race and sexuality much more readily than I would. I wonder if it isn’t the liberal conceit that we’re “above” noticing such things that keeps it from going away. I read Obama’s book (1st one) and realize that he felt that he had to choose a culture. Multi-cultural not being one in our society, he had to choose black or white. Is ignoring race a progressive thing or an ignorant thing to do?

    Can you tell I’ve been musing over this topic for a long time?

  6. November 7, 2008 12:43 pm

    I think there’s a difference between acting without regard to race (or gender or another category of difference), as lemming mentions, and ignoring race. The thing that strikes me about AJ’s term, “people with brown skin,” is that it is purely descriptive. It doesn’t imply any of the baggage that goes with racial words. He acknowledges difference, but does not pass judgment on it. And that, I think, is the ideal balance. Clearly kids are not immune. When I was tutoring math to AJ’s class earlier this week (and I will be writing about this experience when I have time over at AJ’s Clubhouse), I was startled to see that every girl who came to me sat down and apologized for not being good at math. They weren’t any better or worse than the boys. But the boys didn’t apologize. I take from this a message of difference. Where does it come from? Us, of course. I apologize all the time for my lack of math skills. Sure, I don’t remember calculus or trig or even much about algebra at this point in my life. But I used to know how to do them and I’m actually pretty good at doing math in my head. But I don’t trust myself because I don’t really believe I’m good at math. I need to stop apologizing, though. I don’t want to pass that on to boys or girls. The thing that’s beautiful about seeing Obama in the White House is that a whole batch of apologies and excuses and other, more serious, bad messages have just gone up in flames.

    You make a good point, Jill, about the issue of multiculturism. The same is true of sexuality — we can handle gay better than we can handle bi. We need categories and we don’t do well when things don’t fit them. But it is a very fine line between acknowledging difference and passing judgment on it. And what if the nature of the difference isn’t clear? Then what does it mean?

    And Jeanne, I loved Kristoff’s column and his use of the MLK quote too. It doesn’t have to be perfect. It just has to be better. And it’s never going to be perfect, but it already is better. It’s good to remember that and keep on trying.

  7. November 7, 2008 4:25 pm

    What a great entry – and equally insightful comments. Harriet, when I read this entry my first thought was, if only my daughter could grow up in a world where a competent female in power were also possible.

  8. readersguide permalink
    November 7, 2008 5:25 pm

    Lots of things to think about here.

    1. I think that for us, in Berkeley (admittedly a special place), the world really is different for our kids. They just see things differently, and they think it’s great that there is a black president, but it’s not really a surprise to them. They really aren’t making an effort to think that black people are people, too — it really is, as Harriet says, that they just are. It’s like what we were aiming for when I went to school actually worked, which I find unbelievably great. And we were able to vote for Obama because he was so much the better candidate, and the fact that he was black was incidental (although, when I was able to think about it without worrying that to do so would jinx the election, also amazing.)

    2. What is it with girls and their apologizing. It drives me wild. N admits she’s good at math, but M has forever worried that she’s not good at this or at that (and math in particular) when she’s actually really good at math! Only a week ago she finally told me that she was good at math (or rather, that math just wasn’t something that was hard for her to understand. Still not that she’s good at it!) — but 2 years ago she refused to take the test to be in honors because she was convinced she wasn’t good at it. It is definitely a girl thing — or maybe it is a boy thing to not worry about people thinking you are not as good as you are pretending you are. In any case, it’s a thing, and it’s a bad one.

    3. Elections. I think the winning and losing thing is hard. The thing on parent hacks seems good, actually, because it’s complicated, as elections are. A preschool around here did an election between graham crackers and goldfish, and I think it might be hard for kids to understand why their snack was less good than the other snack. It’s the winning and losing thing that’s hard. I think I’m only beginning to get it after losing so awfully in 2000 and 2004 and then winning in 2008 and realizing that maybe I can still live in this country after all. It’s complicated, and maybe you need a perspective that kids in general can’t have.

  9. November 7, 2008 7:50 pm

    I can’t add to what your wonderfully insightful readers have already said but I will echo it. I thought that Parent Hack thing was a great way to explain it. And I can’t even begin to tell you how wonderful I think it is that AJ and Katie and Evie and everyone else’s wee ones will grow up never having thought of presidents as old and white. I only hope that, before their views are cemented, we have a woman in that role to look up to as well.

Leave a comment