Skip to content

I am curious ultraviolet

November 30, 2008
tags:

Another meme pilfered from Midlife Mama. If you’re reading, consider yourself tagged!

1. WERE YOU NAMED AFTER ANYONE? My great aunt’s college roommate. It’s not that I was named after her as a tribute. My mom just like the name, which is somewhat unusual in our country (and was more so then) but not so much in her country of origin.

2. WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED? Probably Thanksgiving, when I was watching my niece in the Macy’s parade.

3. DO YOU LIKE YOUR HANDWRITING? Hmm. I’m not sure like is the right word, but it’s very personal and definitely mine and I like that. My cursive is illegible, sometimes even to me. My printing is quirky, because I taught myself to print before I learned properly by copying words out of printed books. Consequently, I do some weird things, particularly to my lowercase A and G. But I have stuck doggedly by my own style, even though it meant years of remedial penmanship. I am proud to say that I am incorrigible in that regard.

4. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE LUNCH MEAT? Bacon, when on a BLT. It’s really the only one I like. I spent 20 years as a vegetarian and haven’t really seen the point of processed meat when there are artichokes to be had.

5. DO YOU HAVE KIDS? Yes, AJ, age 7.

6. IF YOU WERE ANOTHER PERSON WOULD YOU BE FRIENDS WITH YOU? I’m not sure. I might be. Then again, I might feel too competitive with myself and steer clear.

7. DO YOU USE SARCASM A LOT? Not as much as I used to, mainly because it tends to get misinterpreted. Ditching the sarcasm has proved easier than adapting my normal earnest delivery.

8. DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR TONSILS? Yes.

9. WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP? No. I don’t really see the point.

10. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CEREAL? Oatmeal made with soy milk and topped with golden raisins, dried cherries, toasted flax seed, and walnuts. I have this for breakfast nearly every day.

11. DO YOU UNTIE YOUR SHOES WHEN YOU TAKE THEM OFF? Only if there’s no other way to get them off.

12. DO YOU THINK YOU ARE STRONG? Yes, I think I am. Thank you, yoga!

13. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE ICE CREAM? Häagen-Dazs Dulce de Leche, hands down.

14. WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE? Their hands

15. RED OR PINK? Red. I’m not a pink fan.

16. WHAT IS THE LEAST FAVORITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF? My fears.

17. WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST? My family

18. DO YOU WANT EVERYONE TO SEND THIS BACK TO YOU? No, but I’d love to see what you have to say in your blog, so leave me a comment and let me know you’re posting.

19. WHAT COLOR SHOES ARE YOU WEARING? I’m not wearing shoes – I seldom wear shoes in the house — but my socks are black and grey with snowflakes on them in honor of the weather. Earlier, I was wearing the kick-ass blue suede boots that Cranky gave me last winter.

20. WHAT WAS THE LAST THING YOU ATE? Half a sandwich of leftover turkey on wheat bread.

21. WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW? A Christmas carol on the radio. Yes, I’m one of THOSE people.

22. IF YOU WHERE A CRAYON, WHAT COLOR WOULD YOU BE? Ultraviolet

23. FAVORITE SMELLS? Baking gingerbread, osage apples, AJ’s head after a bath

24. WHO WAS THE LAST PERSON YOU TALKED TO ON THE PHONE? One of my husband’s employers.

25. DO YOU LIKE THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU? I don’t know her, but I like her blogs.

26. FAVORITE SPORTS TO WATCH? I don’t much like watching sports, except for the Olympics, in which case, my favorites are the girly ones like ice skating and gymnastics.

27. HAIR COLOR? Brown

28. EYE COLOR? Blue-grey

29. DO YOU WEAR CONTACTS? Lord, yes. Otherwise I’m blind as a bat.

30. FAVORITE FOOD? Pumpkin ravioli in sage butter.

31. SCARY MOVIES OR HAPPY ENDINGS? Happy endings. I can’t do scary movies. I’m far too suggestible.

32. LAST MOVIE YOU WATCHED? The Polar Express on TV

33. WHAT COLOR SHIRT ARE YOU WEARING? An orange T-shirt under a heather grey sweater. This is my favorite weekend outfit.

34. SUMMER OR WINTER? Winter. Definitely winter. I don’t deal well with heat.

35. HUGS OR KISSES? Hugs.

36. FAVORITE DESSERT? Floating Island

37. MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND? Maybe Freshhell. Although the person I stole this from already tagged Freshhell here, so is it cheating to tag her again?

38. LEAST LIKELY TO RESPOND? Barack Obama

39. WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW? For fun, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos something or other. It’s a little heavy-handed, but fun. I won’t even mention the work ones. It’s too depressing.

40. WHAT IS ON YOUR MOUSE PAD? I don’t have a mousepad. I use a laptop with a trackpad. AJ’s computer is the only desktop anyone uses (we have one other that is our server but it doesn’t get typed on). His PC was a gift from our next door neighbor, who gave it to him when he moved away. It came with a mousepad with a lighthouse on it and it’s still the one we use.

41. WHAT DID YOU WATCH ON TV LAST NIGHT? The Dick Van Dyke show.

42. FAVORITE SOUND? AJ laughing, wind in the prairie or beach grass, ocean waves

43. ROLLING STONES OR BEATLES? Beatles

44. WHAT IS THE FARTHEST YOU HAVE BEEN FROM HOME? Paris. I’ve been as far east in Europe as Greece, but as I was living in England at the time, I don’t think that counts.

45. DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT? Blogging endlessly

46. WHERE WERE YOU BORN? Beech Grove, Indiana

47. WHOSE ANSWERS ARE YOU LOOKING FORWARD TO GETTING BACK? Yours!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2008 5:37 pm

    ocean waves, of course! It’s so hard for me to think about summer when it’s cold and rainy out…

  2. November 30, 2008 8:29 pm

    I ended up finishing and liking The Shadow of the Wind, but found it a very slow read. I might have quit reading it, except my 88-year-old stand partner at the symphony lent it to me, and I knew she expected my reaction when I gave it back. Good thing I ended up liking it!

Trackbacks

  1. Today’s time-wasting meme | Dark side of the moon

Leave a comment