Skip to content

A list for a hot summer day

August 4, 2009

1. Taking a hot shower and suddenly turning it cold at the very end.

2. Reading in front of the fan

3. Fla-Vor-Ice

4. Free morning movies at the local theater (today’s feature: Kung-Fu Panda)

5. Wading in the river

6. Swinging

7. Listening to AJ practice piano in the cool, cool basement

8. The chance to determine once and for all if it’s the heat or the humidity by visiting the desert next week.

9. Ceiling fans

10. Cool nights and no air conditioning needed

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 9:47 am

    If it’s hot in your area today, perhaps we’ll get some of it tomorrow! I like heat. It will put me in a better mood even if most of what I’m doing is chauffeuring, rather than wading in the river which sounds like more fun.

  2. August 4, 2009 10:29 am

    It’s pleasant here. Nice. Gotta love a mild summer. But we need rain. I mowed the dirt on Sunday.

    Say, what’s the term for something like at the end of “Fancy Colours” by Chicago, where after the ending drum piece the horns come in and play a chord that is not ‘expected’ based on the key. Is it just simple modulation at the end or is there a term for a piece that doesn’t end with the right ‘chord’ or note, as it were.

  3. crankygirl permalink
    August 4, 2009 11:47 am

    10 sounds lovely. I can’t wait for cool nights.

  4. readersguide permalink
    August 4, 2009 12:03 pm

    I’m pretty sure it’s the humidity, but I’ll let you know what I think next week when I go to MN.

  5. August 4, 2009 10:29 pm

    #10 is the best. I can stand the heat usually if I know it’s going to cool at night.

Leave a comment